RP's Domingo TKOs ex-world champ, prepares for US stint
Ratanachai did all he could to throw off Domingo, assaulting the Filipino with head butts and elbows which referee Teddy Alivio noticed but did not penalize the Thai boxer for.
But Domingo maintained his focus and was methodical with his attacks to neutralize Ratanachai’s tactics.
As the ninth round winded down, Domingo took advantage of an opening to catch Ratanachai, a veteran of 84 professional fights, with a perfectly timed right straight and floor him.
Ratanachai, who last held the WBO world bantamweight crown in 2005, still got up at the end of the round. Alivio called on the ringside doctor to check on a cut on the Thai fighter ’s nose bridge before the referee declared Ratanachai unfit to continue.
The time of stoppage was at the 2:58 mark of the ninth round.
With the win, Domingo (36-14-2 win-loss draw) is expected to begin his US campaign, Domingo’s manager Michael Aldeguer revealed. – GMANews.TV