GMA News Online

NCAA invites 3 new teams for '09 season

April 3, 2009 7:53pm
MANILA, Philippines – The National Collegiate Association (NCAA) Policy Board has decided to invite three new schools to compete as guest teams in the 85th NCAA season set to unfold June 27 at the Araneta Coliseum.

NCAA president Fr. Mat De Jesus, OSB from host San Beda who presided over Friday's board meeting, refused to name the three schools the league will invite but said everything will be threshed out after the Holy Week break.

“We’re ironing out the details but we have decided which schools we should invite," said Fr. De Jesus. “If they will all accept, we might have ten schools competing this season. We’re hoping they will all accept the invitation."

Currently, the league has seven regular teams in San Beda, Jose Rizal University, College of St. Benilde, Letran College, San Sebastian College, University of Perpetual Help Dalta System and Mapua.

Philippine Christian University, which was the eighth team last season, is leaving the country's oldest collegiate league as part of their agreement when they were allowed to compete last year.

The Dolphins should have served a second suspension last season for illegal use of players three years ago but was allowed to compete after they agreed to move out this season.

Meanwhile, schools invited must follow certain conditions laid down by the Policy Board, including participation in basic sports which may include basketball and mandatory sports athletics and swimming.

“The conditions are not hard to follow. But we still can’t go public about it until they have accepted the invitation and met certain requirements," added Fr De Jesus.

He, however, explained that schools accepted this season will still have to file their application for membership if they want to become a regular member next season.

“They are allowed to play by invitation and this is different from their application. That is why we want to differentiate the two. After the season they must decide if they are going to apply for membership with the league," Fr. De Jesus explained.

The league has started to accept application for new membership last season with Arellano University, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Angeles University Foundation and Lyceum locked in a heated race for slots.

However, the said schools failed to get the required two-thirds votes for a new team’s inclusion to the NCAA roster.

“Hopefully everything will be threshed out after the Holy Week. If none of these schools will accept the invitation, then we’ll be stuck with seven schools for next season," added Fr. De Jesus. –GMANews.TV
Go to comments