GMA News Online

10 teams to vie for cycling’s Tour of Luzon crown

April 11, 2009 5:56pm
MANILA, Philippines – Four former champions and six other elite riders have been tapped to lead the 10 teams battling for honors in the Tour of Luzon which fires off April 13 at the Quezon Memorial Circle in Quezon City.

The seven-day tour, organized by Liquigaz and the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Marketers Association (LPGMA), features 10 teams each composed of nine riders vying for fame and glory apart from the cash prizes at stake.

Former champions and perennial contenders will be the captain of the teams. Leading the list are past Tour winners Arnel Quirimit, Warren Davadilla, Santy Barnachea and the comebacking Rhyan Tanguilig.

Tanguilig, winner of the 2004 Tour Pilipinas and is seeking to add another entry into the Tour record books, heads Team Liquigaz while 2003 champion Quirimit and two-time winner Davadilla were tapped to lead the way for Team Happy Nuts and Regasco Group, respectively.

Other seasoned riders tasked lead their teams are Barnachea (Mobile Wonder/Magic Prints), Lloyd Reynante (American Vinyl), Merculio Ramos (My Photo), Dante Cagas (Road Bike Philippines), Baler Ravina (Team Tagaytay) and Joel Calderon (DPT Law).

Besides the total cash prize of P2 million for the team and individual winners, LPGMA president Arnel Ty said the top 12 riders will automatically earn slots to the national team under the leadership of Tagaytay City Mayor and PhilCycling president Bambol Tolentino.

“These riders are all aching to get back on the road. We have gone out of our way not only to keep them competitive, but also to help them earn as professional cyclists,'' said Ty.

The Philippine National Cycling Association headed by Paquito Rivas will manage the Tour, which had a series qualifying races in Tagaytay City and Macapagal Highway.

From Quezon City, the riders will travel to Lucena City and will test the rolling terrain on the way to Tagaytay City the following day. The Tour will proceed to Marikina City on the third day before making its way to Cabanatuan City.

From Cabanatuan City, the cyclists head to Baguio City before plunging into the penultimate lap, the figure-eight race from Baguio to Baguio stage. – GMANews.TV
Go to comments