GMA News Online
Campus Sports

NCAA swimming: Sea Lions extend reign to 8 years

August 26, 2009 8:45pm
San Beda College proved peerless in the pool as the Sea Lions annexed their eighth straight seniors’ division title recently in the NCAA Season 85 swimming championships at the Trace Aquatics Center in Los Baños, Laguna.

Led by Most Valuable Swimmer Tehdy Gavino, the Sea Lions piled up a total of 1,419 points to destroy the opposition anew and sustain the championship run they started in the 2002-2003 season.

A far second was College of St. Benilde, which tallied 604.25 points, followed by Mapua (322.5 points) and San Sebastian (205.82 points) in third and fourth places, respectively.

Guest team Angeles University Foundation came in fifth with 78 points followed by fellow guest squads Emilio Aguinaldo College (62.75 points) and Arellano University (49.5 points).

Gavino anchored the Sea Lions’ big splash with record-breaking swims in three events, the 50-meter backstroke, the 4 x 50 medley relay with Ferdinand Frigillana, Jon Aninon and John Simora and the 4 x 100 medley relay with Frigillana, MacGyver Reyes and Adrian Reyes.

Equally dominant was the CSB-La Salle Greenhills team, which won the juniors’ division title for the fifth consecutive year.

With MVP Luis Enriquez taking charge, the Junior Blazers amassed 1,275 points to emerge the runaway winner over San Sebastian (525 points), University of Perpetual Help (465 points), San Beda (198.25 points) and guest team Angeles University (185.25 points).

Adjudged Coaches of the Year were former national team standout Gavino Roxas for the seniors’ division and Greg Colmenares for the juniors’ competitions.

The College of St. Benilde Lady Blazers grabbed a piece of the limelight by topping women’s swimming which was held for the first time as a demonstration event.

The Lady Blazers logged 339 points to beat Jose Rizal University (164 points) and EAC (156.5 points) for the plum. – GMANews.TV
Go to comments