GMA News Online

MMDA to re-implement anti-littering law starting Sept 16

September 9, 2010 8:59am

Tags: MMDA
Starting on September 16, littering will become an "expensive habit" in Metro Manila again because violators of the anti-littering law would have to pay fines of at least P500 each.

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) said it will re-implement Regulation Number 96-009 or the Anti-Littering Law, which was suspended in 2003.

The Anti-Littering Law, amended by MMDA Regulation Number 99-006, prohibits littering, dumping, and throwing of garbage or any kind of waste in open or public places.

It also requires establishments, both public or private, to maintain the cleanliness of their frontages and immediate surroundings.

"Under the law, violators are issued an EVR (Environmental Violation Receipt ), with corresponding fines ranging from P500 to P1,000 and community service for those who cannot afford to pay the administrative fines," the MMDA said on its website.

This law was suspended in 2003 but the members of the Metro Manila Council agreed to re-implement the law after its regular meeting at the Makati City Hall on Wednesday.

MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino said MMDA Health, Public Safety, and Environment Protection Office (HPSEPO) personnel and deputized environmental police will start apprehending violators starting on September 16.

The members of the MMC, the MMDA's policy-making body, also agreed to integrate the salient points of all existing anti-littering ordinances implemented by the 17 local government units of Metro Manila.

These ordinances include MMDA Regulation 99-006, and Republic Act 9003 or the Ecological Solid Waste Act of the Philippines.

Among the important concerns raised were the integrated health campaign, deputation of environmental enforcers, budgetary requirements, and the penalties being imposed by the LGUs.

"We will be going around the LGUs and conduct information and education campaign for public awareness before we start our actual apprehension," Tolentino said.

Those present during the meeting were Mayors Aldrin San Pedro (Muntinlupa), Sherwin Gatchalian (Valenzuela), Jejomar Erwin Binay Jr. (Makati), Laarni Cayetano (Taguig), John Rey Tiangco (Navotas), Enrico Echeverri (Caloocan), Jaime Medina (Pateros), and representatives from the other LGUs and government agencies. –VVP, GMANews.TV
Go to comments

Tags: MMDA

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus