GMA News Online

PAGASA starts 5-day forecasts for 12 tourist spots

September 21, 2011 7:59am
Visitors planning to go to at least 12 tourist destinations in the Philippines may get a boost from the new five-day extended forecasts from the Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration.

PAGASA began offering on its website the five-day weather outlook for the 12 destinations, initially as a downloadable PDF file.

Included in the outlook are:

  • Vigan (Cathedral and old Spanish houses)
  • Baguio City (Mines View Park, Philippine Military Academy)
  • Banaue (Rice Terraces, Sagada)
  • Anilao (beach resort)
  • Puerto Galera (beach resort, diving area)
  • Taal (Taal Lake and crater area)
  • Naga City (Malabsay Falls, Our Lady of Peñafrancia)
  • El Nido (The Islands of God - Heaven on Earth)
  • Boracay (beach resort, diving area)
  • Cebu (Magellan's Cross and Lapu-Lapu Shrine)
  • Camiguin (The Philippines Garden of Eden, Mt. Hibok-Hibok)
  • Davao (Mt. Apo)

    However, the information may not be so easy to find on PAGASA's website as one has to navigate through the "Real Time Weather" menu at the left side of the homepage (, then click on the "Selected Tourist Areas" section.

    In the new PAGASA website (, a visitor has to click on the "Meteorology" menu and hover the pointer over "Forecasts" before getting to click on "Tourist Areas of the Philippines."

    Last September 4, PAGASA said the extended forecasts for tourists spots is to be an added service.

    It initially said the tourist spots to be included in the extended forecasts were:

  • Vigan (Ilocos Sur)
  • Batangas/Anilao
  • Naga (Camarines Sur)
  • Boracay (Western Visayas)
  • El Nido (Palawan)
  • Camiguin areas (Central Visayas)
  • Puerto Galera (Oriental Mindoro)

    The forecast is separate from PAGASA's regular five-day weather forecast, which includes:

  • Metro Manila
  • Tuguegarao City (Cagayan)
  • Laoag City (Ilocos Norte)
  • Baguio City
  • Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (Olongapo, Clark Zone, Angeles City)
  • Tagaytay City (Cavite)
  • Legazpi City (Albay)
  • Puerto Princesa City (Palawan)
  • Iloilo/Bacolod Cities
  • Metro Cebu
  • Tacloban City
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Metro Davao
  • Zamboanga City.

    — RSJ, GMA News
  • Go to comments

    i am ready

    We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
    Comments Powered by Disqus