GMA News Online

PAGASA raises Storm Signal No. 3 over five new areas

September 27, 2011 12:50am
Five new areas were placed under Storm Signal No. 3 Monday evening as Typhoon Pedring (Nesat) intensified further, moving West Northwest toward northeastern Luzon.

It is expected to make landfall over Aurora-Isabela by Tuesday morning.

According to the 11 p.m. update from the Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA), eight areas were placed under Storm Signal No. 3, while 18 others were placed under Storm Signal No. 2, including Metro Manila. Eight other areas were placed under Storm Signal No. 1.

According to the Department of Education guidelines, elementary to high school classes in areas under Storm Signal No. 2 are automatically suspended. Classes at the collegiate level are automatically suspended in areas under Storm Signal No. 3.

PAGASA had earlier placed 14 areas — including Metro Manila — under Storm Signal No. 2 and 19 areas are under Signal No. 1.

“Pedring" is expected to be within the vicinity of Baguio City by Tuesday afternoon, and 40 km south of Sinait, Ilocos Sur by Tuesday evening.

The typhoon has maximum winds of 140 kilometers per hour (kph) near the center and gustiness of up to 170 kph, according to the 11 p.m. PAGASA update. “Pedring" is expected to move west northwest at 17 kph.

PAGASA estimated the rainfall from "Pedring" at 15-25 millimeters per hour within the typhoon’s 650-km diameter. The storm is also expected to enhance the southwest monsoon, bringing scattered to widespread rains over Southern Luzon and Visayas.

According to GMA News' "Saksi," people may get in touch with government agencies for emergencies.

According to the latest PAGASA bulletin places under storm signals are as follows:
    Storm Signal No. 3 (Winds of 101-185 kph)

    • Aurora

    • Isabela

    • Cagayan

    • Kalinga

    • Mt. Province

    • Ifugao

    • Nueva Viscaya

    • Quirino
    Storm Signal No. 2 (Winds of 61-100 kph)

    • Ilocos Norte

    • Ilocos Sur

    • Abra

    • Apayao

    • La Union

    • Benguet

    • Pangasinan

    • Zambales

    • Tarlac

    • Pampanga

    • Bulacan

    • Metro Manila

    • Rizal

    • Quezon including Polillo Island

    • Bataan

    • Camarines Norte

    • Camarines Sur

    • Catanduanes
    Storm Signal No. 1 (Winds of 45-60 kph)

    • Cavite

    • Laguna

    • Batangas

    • Marinduque

    • Albay

    • Sorsogon

    • Burias and Lubang Islands

    • Babuyan ang Calayan group of Islands.
Both the United States and the United Kingdom, meanwhile, advised their respective nationals in the Philippines to take safety precautions against “Pedring."

In particular, the British and American nationals were warned against the risks of heavy rains, flooding and storm surges. — BC/VS, GMA News
Go to comments

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus