GMA News Online

20 youth groups make it to TAYO Awards finals

October 12, 2011 3:51pm
The National Youth Commission (NYC) on Wednesday said 20 groups made it to the finals of this year’s TAYO Awards or Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations.

“The TAYO Awards Foundation not only gives recognition to the youth organizations, but also awards them with a cash grant," Sarah Grutas, NYC social media director, told GMA News Online.

The finalists from National Capital Region are Ateneo Special Education Society, Linangan Sa Imahen Retorika at Anyo, UP Junior Marketing Association, Alliance of Young Nurse Leaders & Advocates International Inc., and Indak Kabataan.

From outside Metro Manila, the University of the Cordilleras-Hapiyoh’ Mi Cultural Group, Kairos Band, Philippine Junior Jaycees Inc., AUL-Stage, and The Mountain Collegian, complete the list from Luzon.

From the Visayas the finalists include the Abellana National School Rescue Group Inc., Aklan Catholic College, Hayag Youth Organization Inc., AKMA – RESBAK, and Industrial Engineering Council

The finalists from Mindanao are the Young Mindanawans Peace Builders, Youth Solidarity For Peace, UP Omega Alpha Fraternity and UP Omega Alpha Sorority, Association of Locally Empowered Youth in Northern Mindanao, and Maco Youth For Peace.

Projects and advocacies

The winning organizations will get P50,000 each to fund their projects and continue their advocacies, according to an NYC statement Wednesday. The money is given by the Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines Inc.

“This year’s screening is the hardest yet," NYC said, citing its commissioner, Georgina Nava, who also heads the TAYO organizing committee.

“Mas maraming organizations ang sumali at nahirapan talaga ang screening committee sa pagpili kung sino ba ang mas maraming nai-ambag sa community nila. Patunay ito na higit na mas maraming kabataan ngayon ang aktibo at may pakialam sa kalagayan ng kanilang komunidad," Nava added.

The 20 finalists will go through another round of screening from October 23 to 26, and the awarding ceremonies will be on Oct. 27 at the Malacañang.

The TAYO Awards Foundation was founded in 2002, according to its website.

Small organizations that upheld socially significant advocacies such as accessible education, peace between street gangs, free training programs and agriculture development are given the opportunity to promote their cause and catch public interest to support their advocacies.

This year’s TAYO Awards is presented by the Coca-Cola Foundation and organized by the NYC in partnership with the Office of Senator Kiko Pangilinan. Also supporting the search are the Department of Social Welfare and Development, Department of Agriculture, Philippine Information Agency, Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation, and Philippine Center of Young Leaders in Governance Foundation Inc. Amanda Lago/VS, GMA News
Go to comments

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus