GMA News Online
News
»
Nation

Six long weekends await Pinoys in 2012

December 1, 2011 5:33pm
Good news for vacationers: There will be six long weekends in 2012, according to the list of regular and special holidays released by Malacañang for 2012.
 
Based on Proclamation No. 295, the longest of these long weekends — five days — will be from April 5 (Maundy Thursday) to April 9 (Araw ng Kagitingan).
 
The first special non-working holiday will be on Jan. 23 (Monday) for the celebration of Chinese New Year.
 
All in all, there will be 16 regular and special holidays to be observed next year. These are:

  • January 1 (Sunday) - New Year's Day
  • January 23 (Monday) - Chinese New Year
  • February 25 (Saturday) - EDSA Revolution Anniversary
  • April 5 (Thursday) - Maundy Thursday
  • April 6 (Friday) - Good Friday
  • April 9 (Monday) - Araw ng Kagitingan
  • May 1 (Tuesday) - Labor Day
  • June 12 (Tuesday) - Independence Day
  • August 21 (Tuesday) - Ninoy Aquino Day
  • August 27 (Monday) - National Heroes Day
  • November 1 (Thursday) - All Saints Day
  • November 2 (Friday) - Additional special (non-working) day
  • November 30 (Friday) - Bonifacio Day
  • December 25 (Tuesday) - Christmas Day
  • December 30 (Sunday) - Rizal Day
  • December 31 (Monday) - Last Day of the Year

The EDSA Revolution Anniversary was declared a special holiday for all schools.
 
"Proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha shall hereafter be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations," the proclamation said. 
 — RSJ/KBK, GMA News
 
Go to comments



We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus