GMA News Online

Government sets P98M to build 33 lighthouses nationwide

August 15, 2012 4:36pm

The Aquino government will spend P98 million to construct new lighthouses across the country, said the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC).

The project will consist of seven phases that will build one or multiple lighthouses in several locations:

1 - Buguey Point, Centro Buguey (Cagayan).

2 - Taritik Point, Dilasag; Casiguran; Decasalarin, Baler; and Agrea Point, Dingalan (all in Aurora), Barangay Bote, Bato (Catanduanes).

3 - Wawa, Abucay and Sisiman Cove, Mariveles; Lamao Port, Limay (all in Bataan); Binuangan River, Obando (Bulacan); Talisay Port, Talisay (Batangas);  and Pokem Bato, Morong (Rizal).

4 - Linapacan Port, Apao Port, Tubbataha Island, and Cagayancillo (all in Palawan).

5 - Mapid, Lagonoy and Sitio Pasawangon, Gogon (all in Camarines Sur).

6 - Cabantian Point, Guindulman (Bohol); Tongo Point (Siqujor); Biri Island, San Policarpio, Lawaan, Mina-anod Island, Anahao Island, Hilabaan Island, Guiuan, and Sulat (all in Eastern Samar); and in the North and South entrances of the San Juanico Strait (Leyte).

7 - Penaplata (Davao); Turtle Island (Surigao del Sur); Del Carmen (Surigao del Norte); and Sta Monica Port (Siargao).

Three types of lighthouses will be built: 18-meter concrete lighthouses, 12-meter concrete lighthouses, and 10-meter pole beam lighthouses.

The DOTC has also earmarked P246 million to acquire lighthouse equipment as part of efforts to modernize 143 light stations nationwide.

Furthermore, the Philippine Coast Guard will also invite bids for the civil works needed for the construction and rehabilitation of 194 government-owned light houses in the country. - BM, GMA News
Go to comments

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus