GMA News Online
Agriculture and Mining

BFAR issues red tide warning for areas in Mindanao, Pangasinan

November 26, 2012 3:07pm

Tags: Pangasinan
Shellfish from Dumanquillas Bay in Zamboanga del Sur and Murcielagos Bay in Zamboanga del Norte and Misamis Oriental have tested positive for red tide-causing dinoflagellates way beyond the regulatory limit, the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) warned Monday.

The Bureau also issued a similar warning for the coastal waters of Bolinao and Anda in Pangasinan, which have also tested positive for red tide.

A high concentration of dinoflagellates results in a toxic harmful algal bloom (HAB) known as red tide. And ingestion of shellfish from areas with red tide could lead to paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP).

According to the US Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), PSP could lead to “muscle paralysis and respiratory failure…and in these cases death may occur in 2 to 25 hours.”

BFAR advised that all types of shellfish and alamang (shrimp fry) gathered from the areas noted above are not safe for human consumption. However, fish, squid, shrimp and crab are safe, provided they are fresh and washed thoroughly, and internal organs such as gills and intestines are removed before cooking.

The bureau says that the following areas continue to be toxin-free:

1.    the coastal waters of Cavite, Las Piñas, Navotas, Bulacan, Parañaque and Bataan;
2.    the coastal waters of Alaminos and Wawa, Bani in Pangasinan;
3.    Masinloc Bay in Zambales;
4.    the coastal waters of Milagros and Mandaon in Masbate; Juag Lagoon in Matnog and Sorsogon bay in Sorsogon;
5.    Honda and Puerto Bays in Puerto Princesa and Inner Malampaya Sound in Taytay, Palawan;
6.    the coastal waters of Panay, President Roxas, Roxas City, Pilar, Ivisan and Sapian in Capiz;
7.    the coastal waters of E.B. Magalona, Pulupnadan, Valladolid, Pontevedra, Talisay City, Silay City, Bacolod City, Hinigiran, Cadiz, Victorias City, Bago City, Binalbagan and San Enrique in Negros Occidental;
8.    Irong-Irong, Maqueda and Villareal Bays in Samar;
9.    Matarinao Bay in Eastern Samar;
10   Ormoc, San Pedro, Cancabato, and Carigara Bays in Leyte;
11.  the waters surrounding Biliran province;
12.  Hinatuan, Bislig and Lianga Bays in Surigao del Sur;
13.  Balite Bay, Mati Davao Oriental; and
14.  Taguinis Lagoon in Benoni Mahinog, Camiguin Island. — BM, GMA News
Go to comments

Tags: Pangasinan

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus