GMA News Online

Oakwood Mutiny backgrounder

April 8, 2008 2:07pm

More than 300 junior officers and enlisted men took over the Oakwood Premier in the Ayala Center, Makati City on July 27, 2003.

They were led by Navy Ltsg. Antonio Trillanes IV, Army Capt. Gerardo Gambala, Army Capt. Milo Maestrecampo, Navy Ltsg. James Layug and Marine Capt. Gary Alejano.

The soldiers, who became known as the Magdalo group, claimed that the take-over of Oakwood was spontaneous; they had simply intended to air their grievances against the government, including graft and corruption in the military. The Feliciano Commission was created to look into the Oakwood Mutiny and the mutineers' grievances.

A little over a year later (September 24, 2004), the mutineers' leaders apologized to President Arroyo and took back their accusations against top AFP officials.

A number of the mutineers have been released since their detention in 2003. More than 180 soldiers were freed in May 2005.

Some of the mutineers escaped military custody.

Sources: GMA News, Feliciano Commission Report
Go to comments