GMA News Online

12 Magdalos meted dishonorable discharge

August 22, 2007 11:35am
Twelve Army junior officers who have earlier pleaded guilty in taking part in the short-lived July 27, 2003 Oakwood mutiny have been meted the sentence of dishonorable discharge by a military court Wednesday.

"The general court martial hereby imposes the following sentence (that of) dishonorable discharge," said court president Brig. Gen. Nathaniel Legaspi.

In handing out the sentence, the court said the officers "brought dishonor to the profession of arms and the military" by occupying the Oakwood Premiere Suites in Makati City's commercial and financial district.

Those who were meted the sentence were Army Captains Milo Maestrecampo, Gerardo Gambala, Albert Baloloy, Alvin Ebreo, Lawrence Somera, and John Andres; and First Lieutenants Rex Bolo, Von Rio Tayab, Audie Tocloy, Cleo Donga-as, Florentino Somera, and Brian Yasay.

Of the 12, Maestrecampo and Gambala were once among the hard-core members of the Magdalo group.

The said officers, along with 17 others, were accused of violating Articles of War 96 or conduct unbecoming an officer and a gentleman.

On July 10, the 12 officers pleaded guilty on the charge against them, effectively changing the not guilty plea earlier entered by the court on their behalf more than two years ago.

Legaspi said the sentence would become effective once approved by President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo who is commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

And pending on the decision of the President, the court said the salaries and allowances of the 12 officers would continue unless ordered otherwise by MalacaƱang. - GMANews.TV
Go to comments