Filtered By: News

Walang Pasok: No classes Friday in several provinces, cities due to Yolanda

(Updated 10:26 a.m., Nov. 8) Friday classes in several provinces and cities nationwide have been canceled due to Typhoon Yolanda, which made landfall in Guiuan, Eastern Samar at 4:40 a.m. Friday. 

The list below uses information from the Department of Education Twitter account, the
Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office
, and the Philippine Information Agency.

It will be updated every time new information comes in.

Classes suspended Friday, November 8, all levels, as of 7:10 a.m.

Metro Manila
Muntinlupa (all levels)
Pateros (all levels)
Marikina (all levels)
Valenzuela (preschool to high school)
Pasig City (all levels)
Taguig (preschool only)
Quezon City (preschool to high school)
Mandaluyong (all levels)
Pasay (all levels)
Caloocan (preschool to high school)
San Juan City (all levels)
Parañaque City (all levels)
Malabon (preschool to high school)
Navotas City (all levels)
Makati City (preschool to high school)
Manila (college classes starting 12 nn, Friday)
Rizal province (all levels)
Batangas (all levels)
Camarines Norte (all levels)
Camarines Sur (all levels)
Cavite (all levels)
Marinduque (all levels)
Quezon (all levels)
San Jose, Mindoro Occidental (all levels)
Sorsogon City, Sorsogon (all levels)
Tagaytay City (all levels)
Laguna (all levels)
Catanduanes (all levels)
Northern Palawan (all levels)
Visayas (all levels)
Bacolod City, Negros Occidental
Catbalogan City, Samar
Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu
Mandaue City, Cebu
Negros Oriental
Roxas City, Capiz
Eastern Samar
Southern Leyte
Tacloban, Leyte
Baybay, Leyte
Mindanao (all levels)
Butuan City, Caraga
Dinagat Island
Compostela Valley
Surigao del Norte
Tagum City, Davao del Norte

Classes in Cavite province were suspended on Friday amid the threat from Typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan). Provincial governor Jonvic Remulla issued the announcement via his Twitter account before dawn Friday.
"I am suspending classes in ALL Levels today, November 8, both public and private in the entire province of Cavite," he said.
Work in gov't offices, public sector

Work in government offices and the public sector (except those in risk-reduction, rescue and rehabilitation efforts) is suspended in the following provinces and cities:

Bacolod City, Negros Occidental
Iloilo City, Iloilo
Agusan Del Norte
Surigao del Norte]


Adamson University (All levels and offices)
St. Scholastica's College-Manila (All levels)
Lyceum of the Philippines University-Manila (All levels)
Far Eastern University-FERN (All levels and offices)
Ateneo De Manila University-Manila (All levels)
Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health (Year 5-7 only; faculty strat planning exercises continue)
Philippine Women's University (Taft and JASMS QC campuses; All levels and offices)
St. Paul University-Manila
University of the Philippines-Visayas (Tacloban, Miag-Ao, City campuses)
De La Salle University (All campuses; All levels and offices)
De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde (Classes and offices)
Automatic suspension
(as per DepEd guidelines)
Signal No. 1 - No classes in Kindergarten
Signal No. 2 - No classes in Elementary and High School
Signal No. 3 - No classes in ALL LEVELS including tertiary level

Suspension of work in the private sector is only recommended in Cebu province, except in Mandaue City, where private sector work has been suspended. Work in the private sector in Butuan City, Agusan Del Norte has also been suspended. — Marc Jayson Cayabyab/BM/VC/ELR/KG, GMA News