Filtered By: News

Abalos: Liquor ban to be imposed in 8 NCR areas starting August 6

Eight local government units in the National Capital Region will impose a liquor ban during the two-week enhanced community quarantine starting August 6, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairperson Benhur Abalos said Monday.

At the Palace briefing, Abalos said the liquor ban will depend on the individual decision of the concerned mayors.

“Sa nakikita namin, ang Valenzuela, Mandaluyong, Parañaque, Pasay, Navotas, Pateros, Quezon City, and San Juan, may mga liquor ban,”

(Based on our records, Valenzuela, Mandaluyong, Paranaque, Pasay, Navotas, Pateros, Quezon City, and San Juan have liquor ban)

Abalos issued his remark when asked about the adjustment in the curfew hours for Metro Manila in light of the ECQ. He said the mayors agreed to enforce uniform curfew from 8 p.m. to 4 a.m.

He added that the liquor ban always goes with the curfew policy. However, he said the mayors were given the discretion if they would prohibit alcoholic drinks during the ECQ period.

According to Abalos, Makati, Taguig, Pasig, and Las Pinas informed him that they will not impose any liquor ban.

The MMDA chairperson said that they are currently collating information on other LGUs regarding liquor ban, "Yung iba, ikino-collate pa lang ho namin sa ngayon."

(The other LGUs, we're still collating.)

The NCR will undergo a two-week ECQ from August 6 to 20 in light of the rising cases of COVID-19. — RSJ, GMA News