Filtered By: News

7 more party-lists disqualified from 2013 polls

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has disqualified seven new applicants for next year’s party-list race. Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr., at a press briefing at the Comelec headquarters in Manila on Tuesday, identified the seven as:
  • Fitness Pinoy Association Inc.
  • Pinoy Aasenso Ka
  • Ahente
  • Ang Sandigan ng mga Batang Lansangan (Asabala)
  • Bantay Overseas Contractual Workers
  • Samahan ng Nagtataguyod ng Daang Tuwid (Sandama)
  • 1 Abante Na Pinoy Inc.
As with the previous cases, Brillantes said the seven were disqualified because they are not marginalized and underrepresented. The party-list system — legislated under Republic Act 7941 — aims to open the House of Representatives to the marginalized and underrepresented sectors. Brillantes had earlier said they would strictly implement the law for the 2013 elections. Brillantes, meanwhile, said they would be disqualifying "controversial" groups this week. He did not elaborate, saying only that the Comelec en banc had a close vote on the cases. The Comelec will announce the final list of disqualified and approved groups between November 29 and December 3, he said. The poll body has already cancelled the accreditation of 34 new applicants. Previously announced were:
  • Manila Teachers Savings and Loans Association
  • Ala-Eh (Association of Local Athletics Entrepreneurs and Hobbyists
  • Sel-J (Sports Excellence for Healthier Life’s Journey)
  • Kasambahay (Asosasyon ng mga Kasambahay sa Pilipinas)
  • 1-Serve the People
  • Ako An Bisaya
  • Abyan Ilonggo
  • Democratic Alliance (Dahon)
  • 1 Para sa Bayan
  • 1 Alliance Advocating Autonomy
  • Alab ng Pusong Pinoy Foundation
  • Akbay Kalusugan
  • Black and White Movement
  • Courage Government Employees party-list, which supposedly represents
  • rank-and-file government officials;
  • Guardian
  • Hukbong Querubin Humanitarian Team
  • Ikaw ang Laging Wagi ng Bayan (Ilaw)
  • Samahang Ilocanong Magsasaka
  • Angat Ahon Magsasaka
  • Guardians of Orphans and Disabled
  • Una Edukasyon
  • Kalikasan Green Party
  • A-Seamariners Inc.
  • Education Development Services for Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao,
  • Ram Guardians,
  • Alyansa para sa Demokrasya, and
  • Association of Airline and Airport Workers
The Comelec has so far disqualified seven party-lists that have sitting representatives in the 15th Congress — Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy; regional group Ako Bicol; Ang Galing Pinoy (AGP), whose incumbent representative is Mikey Arroyo, eldest son of former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo; APEC and 1-CARE, which claim to represent electricity consumers; and Aangat Tayo, representing urban poor, women, elderly and youth; and Kapatiran ng mga Nakulong na Walang Sala, which represents penal institutions and prisoners. Previously disqualified from taking part in next year's polls are registered party-list groups Bantay, whose representative in the 14th Congress was fugitive general Jovito Palparan; AGRI; AKMA-PTM; AKO AGILA; AKO BAHAY; PACYAW; PM MASDA; COFA; ARARO; KATUTUBO; OPO; Cocofed; AAMA; Bayani; Abang-Lingkod; AANI; A-IPRA; AME; Greenforce; Firm 24-K Association Inc.; ALIM; ALMA; Kaagapay; and SMART. All took part during the 2010 elections. Meanwhile, the groups Kabalikat ng Bayan sa Kaunlaran and Alliance of Bicolnon Party were axed as party-lists but allowed to participate as political parties. — Marc Jayson Cayabyab/KBK, GMA News