Filtered By: News

37 more party-lists axed as Comelec 'cleansing' continues

(Updated 6:23 p.m.) The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has released its largest list of disqualified party-list groups on Wednesday, most of which have names that start with "1" or "A." "This is the first time that we are taking out existing party-lists. This is also the first time that we are disallowing the participation of so many new applicants," Comelec chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. told reporters, referring to the 37 groups barred from running in next year's elections. Among those disqualified were Butil Farmers Party, which has an incumbent representative, Agapito Guanlao, at the House of Representatives; and existing Binhi-Partido ng mga Magsasaka para sa mga Magsasaka. Both claim to represent the farmer's sectors. Butil's Guanlao has a net worth of P15.7 million as of 2011. "Butil refers to peasants or farmers pero di ka naman farmer dahil landed estate ang hawak mo. Ganun kami kahigipit," Brillantes said. Meanwhile, a cursory look at the disqualified new entrants would show that the sectors they represent include foreign exchange dealers, entrepreneurs, commuters, Social Security System beneficiaries, even adult school drop-outs. These disqualified new entrants are:
  • 1 Ang Batas (1 Ang Bagong Alyansang Tagapagtaguyod ng Adhikaing Sambayanan)
  • 1-A Health
  • 1-AID DALAW INC. (1-Alliance of Inmates Detainees and Dalaw)
  • 1-AIMCOOP (Aurora Integrated Multi-Purpose Cooperative)
  • 1-AKONG MINIMUM WAGER (1-Akong Minimum Wage Earner)
  • 1-APTO (1 – Alliance Of Public Transport Organization)
  • 1PAGASA (The Philippine Association of GSIS, AFPSLAI, SSS and Allied
  • Members, Inc.)
  • 1TEACH (1 Team For Education Advancement and Change Inc.)
  • 4M (Magdiwang Maharlikang Mamamayan Movement)
  • 4P's (Pahiyom Pobreng Pamilyang Pinoy, Inc)
  • AAA (AAA-Aviation Advancement Advocates Inc.)
  • AAD (Ang Ating Damayan Citizens Alliance)
  • ABI (Apila Ng Bayan Inc)
  • ABP (Aktibong Bayang Pilipino Inc.)
  • ACES (Alliance of Concerned Entrepreneurs for Food Security, Inc.)
  • ACTS-OFW (Acts-Overseas Filipino Workers Coalition of Organizations)
  • Ako Bisaya Political Party
  • AKOPA (Ako ang Pasahero, Inc.)
  • ANFBI (Active National Federation of Bantay Bayan Inc.)
  • APELA (Advocates for Penology Enhancement and Legal Assistance Inc.)
  • ARBA Inc. (Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Association, Inc.)
  • ASD (Adult School Drop-Out)
  • ATTOM (Alyansang mga Tsuper at Transport Operators ng Mindanao, Inc.,)
  • BRAVO (Bravo For Justice, Inc.)
  • BRP-SSS (Social Security System Beneficiaries, Retirees, Pensioners
  • Association Incorporated)
  • HAPPI (Hanapbuhay Para Sa Pinoy, Inc.)
  • MAR (Mindanao Alliance For Reforms)
  • MELCHORA (Movement of Women for Change and Reform)
  • NOYPI (Ang Bagong Noypi Movement, Inc.)
  • PM Coalition (Partidong Manggagawa Coalition)
  • PPP (Pilipinas Para Sa Pinoy)
  • SPA (Samahan ng mga Personero sa Aduana Inc)
  • WACCAA (Worldwide Anti-Crime and Child Abuse Assistance Group, Inc.)
One of the disqualified new entrants, MELCHORA, claims to represent the women's sector. But its first nominee is Mary Grace Ibuna, who is the partner and heir of the late congressman Iggy Arroyo, according to Kontra Daya. The poll watchdog added that Ibuna's grandfather was one of the longest serving mayor of San Juan, Manila. "Even if  her husband has died, she is no different from the wives and children of political clans who are disqualified from the party-list system, since she has as resources the political and economic clout of Cong. Iggy Arroyo in Negros," Kontra Daya said. As with the others, Brillantes said the groups were disqualified because they are not marginalized and underrepresented. He had previously said they are cleansing the party-list system from those who abused the mechanism’s intent. The party-list system, legislated under Republic Act 7941, aims to open the House of Representatives to the marginalized and underrepresented sectors. Brillantes said they are more strict in purging the party-list system because the system has "gone out of bounds." "The system has gone out of bounds. Sobra na. Nung umpisa kakaunti sila. Ngayon... ang dami nang naga-apply," Brillantes said. The Comelec has so far disqualified seven party-lists that have sitting representatives in the 15th Congress: Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy; regional group Ako Bicol; Ang Galing Pinoy (AGP), whose incumbent representative is Mikey Arroyo, eldest son of former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo; APEC and 1-CARE, which claim to represent electricity consumers; and Aangat Tayo, representing urban poor, women, elderly and youth; and Kapatiran ng mga Nakulong na Walang Sala, which represents penal institutions and prisoners. Previously disqualified from taking part in next year's polls are registered party-list groups Bantay, whose representative in the 14th Congress was suspect-at-large retired general Jovito Palparan; AGRI; AKMA-PTM; AKO AGILA; AKO BAHAY; PACYAW; PM MASDA; COFA; ARARO; KATUTUBO; OPO; Cocofed; AAMA; Bayani; Abang-Lingkod; AANI; A-IPRA; AME; Greenforce; Firm 24-K Association Inc.; ALIM; ALMA; Kaagapay; and SMART. All took part during the 2010 elections. Meanwhile, the groups Kabalikat ng Bayan sa Kaunlaran and Alliance of Bicolnon Party were axed as party-lists but allowed to participate as political parties.  — KBK, GMA News