Filtered By: News

Palace beats Comelec deadline with 41 govt appointments

Malacañang on Saturday and Sunday announced the appointment by President Benigno Aquino III of at least 41 new officials to various government agencies. The appointments were made amid the looming Commission on Elections prohibition, starting March 29, against such appointments because of the May elections. Sunday's appointments announcement was made by deputy presidential spokesperson Abigail Valte on government-run dzRB radio. The list was also posted on the Presidential Communications Operations Office website. The appointments included: - Jose Alfonso Poblete: president and chief executive officer, and member of the Board of Directors of the United Coconut Planters Bank (UCPB) Coconut Industry Investment Fund Oil Mills Groups A and B. - Jesus Arranza: member of the UCPB Board of Directors - Joffrey Suyao: Acting Director IV at the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) - Milagros Isabel Cristobal: member of the governing board representing the women sector at the Philippine Overseas Employment Agency (POEA) under DOLE. - Paul Elmer Clemente: Acting Director IV of the Department of Justice - Casiano Arcillas: Register of Deeds I for the Land Registration Authority - Faisar Mambuay: Director IV at the Department of Agrarian Reform - Rolando Castro: Acting Director III, Department of Environment of Natural Resources (DENR) - Patrick Aquino: Director III, Department of Energy (DOE) - Virginia Karganilla: Director IV, Department of Budget and Management (DBM) - Gary Martel: Director IV, DBM - Maria Angelita Cells: Director III, DBM - Akmad Usman: Director III, DBM - Rudylia Parrel: Acting Director III, DBM - John Arnold Siena: Acting Schools Division Superintendent, Department of Education - Carla Pacis: member representing academe, National Council for Children’s Television - Maria Cristina Lim-Yuson: member representing child-focused non-government organizations, National Council for Children’s Television - Elmoise Afurong, Jonathan Jay Aldeguer, and Mary Ann Montemayor: members for the Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprise Development Council, Department of Trade and Industry - Joseph Khonghun, member of the Board of Directors representing the Municipality of Subic, Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority - Rodolfo Santos, Director IV, Department of Social Welfare and Development - Artemio Bernardino, Acting Director III, Tariff Commission under the National Economic Development Authority - Richard Ritual, Rear Admiral, Philippine Merchant Academy under the Department of Transportation and Communications - Anthony Robles, member of the Board of Directors, Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP) Data Center, Inc. under the Department of Finance - Felixberto Bustos, Jr., member of the Board of Directors, National Home Mortgage Finance Corporation under the Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council. Saturday appointments Meanwhile, broadsheet the Manila Standard Today early Sunday morning posted the list of appointments revealed by the Palace Saturday. Saturday's appointments included: - Eduardo Martin R. Menez who was appointed Ambassador to the Islamic Republic of Iran, with concurrent jurisdiction over the Republic of Turkmenistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan. - Dina Joana Saltiva Ocampo-Cristobal was appointed as acting undersecretary at the Department of Education - Camille R. Alcaraz-Campos was appointed Department of Transportation and Communications assistant secretary - Rodolfo John Paul C. Palattao III was appointed DOTC Director III - Eriberto C. Suria was appointed Director IV under the Office of Transportation Security - Atty. Florin T. Hilbay was made senior state solicitor of the Office of the Solicitor General. - Ceferino S. Rodolfo was made an assistant secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry - Nieves L. Osorio was made a commissioner of the Civil Service Commission - Madeleine de Rosas Valera was appointed Department of Health Undersecretary and, - Raymond E. Liboro was made assistant secretary of the Department of Science and Technology. — DVM, GMA News