Filtered By: News

Leni's fate in limbo as LP fails to submit expenditure report

The ruling Liberal Party is among the three political parties that failed to beat the deadline for the submission of their respective expenditure reports to the Commission on Elections (Comelec), a non-compliance that may affect their candidates, including Vice President-elect Leni Robredo.

"Nakalagay sa batas na kapag hindi nakapag-file 'yung political party, 'yung mga candidates na 'yun hindi rin makakaupo. That's what the law says right now and it's also in the resolution. As you can imagine, that might have far-reaching consequences," Comelec spokesman James Jimenez said.

However, the final decision on the matter will still be up to the Comelec en banc, he added.

The LP and its standard-bearer, Mar Roxas, had written to the poll body asking for a 14-day extension after they failed to submit their respective statement of contributions and expenditures (SOCE) on Wednesday.

Roxas was the lone presidential candidate who did not file his SOCE in time.

The Comelec officials have yet to decide if they will allow the extension being requested by the LP and Roxas.

Aside from LP, Aksyon Demokratiko and Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino also failed to submit their SOCEs.

According to Commissioner Rowena Guanzon, the matter was not part of the agenda at their meeting on Thursday afternoon, also because Commissioner Christian Robert Lim, who oversees the campaign finance office, was not present.

Poll chief Andres Bautista told reporters their decision will be guided by recommendation from the campaign finance office.

Comelec Resolution No. 9991 rules out late filing, as it set June 8 as a "final and non-extendible" deadline. It also states that the party's non-filing will take its effect on winning candidates from its ranks, as they will not be allowed to assume office.

Seven winning candidates for national positions, as well as hundreds of local candidates, ran under the administration ticket. This includes Robredo, whose team is already preparing transition to the Office of the Vice President.

Six senators-elect were part of the ticket, among them Senate President Franklin Drilon, who also did not file his individual SOCE.  —KBK/JST, GMA News