Filtered By: Just In

Gloria takes seat at House rostrum, Alvarez welcomes Duterte

Former President and Pampanga Representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo appears to have taken an oath at the rostrum in the plenary of the House of Representatives in the presence of her colleagues.

Arroyo's supposed installation as Speaker came following reports of an ouster plot against Davao Del Norte Representative Pantaleon Alvarez.




Arroyo took her oath before Ang Kabuhayan party-list Representative Dennis Laogan, the youngest member of the House.

She also took the Speaker's seat although none of the proceedings could be heard as the House audio system had apparently been turned off.

Camarines Sur Representative Rolando Andaya Jr. said Arroyo got the vote of 161 of their colleagues to unseat Alvarez.

A manifesto expressing support for Arroyo as new speaker made the rounds among House members on Monday.

Still, Alvarez welcomed President Rodrigo Duterte who arrived around 4 p.m. to deliver his third State of the Nation Address before a joint session of Congress.

Alvarez was with Senate President Vicente Sotto III and House Majority Leader Rodolfo Fariñas when they met Duterte at the House compound.

A manifesto was also passed around the House of Representatives on Monday to gather support among lawmakers for Arroyo to become Speaker.

In the manifesto, the lawmakers said they formed a "coalition" to endorse and support the election of Arroyo as Speaker.

The lawmakers stressed the need "to support the Administration with a pro-active legislative agenda that will safeguard the nation's economic growth and secure the safety of our people." —NB, GMA News