Filtered By: News

Villar, Poe top Senate race in final tally

Senators Cynthia Villar and Grace Poe topped the May 2019 senatorial race with  over 25 and 22 million votes, respectively, based on the final tally of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC).

The canvassing of votes ended at 1:20 am of May 22 after the last of the 167 certificate of canvass from the Philippine post from Washington, DC was counted by the NBOC.

Villar had 25,283,727 votes, while Poe had 22,029,788 votes.

Rounding up the top winning 12 Senators were:

Christopher "Bong" Go (20,657,702)
Pia Cayetano (19,789,019)
Ronald "Bato" Dela Rosa (19,004,225)
Sonny Angara (18,161,862)
Lito Lapid (16,965,464)
Imee Marcos (15,882,628)
Francis Tolentino (15,510,026)
Aquilino "Koko" Pimentel III (14,668,665)
Ramon "Bong" Revilla  (14,624,445) and
Nancy Binay (14,504,936)

Comelec has set the proclamation of the 12 winning Senators at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, May 22.

Each winning senator will be allowed to have five guests.

—LDF, GMA News