Filtered By: News

Metro Manila, 9 other areas under GCQ this March —Palace

The National Capital Region (NCR) and nine other areas will be under general community quarantine (GCQ) this March, while the rest of the country will be under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ), presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said on Saturday.

The areas under GCQ are:

  • NCR (Metro Manila)
  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Batangas
  • Tacloban City
  • Iligan City
  • Davao City
  • Lanao del Sur


The quarantine classifications will be in effect from March 1 to 31, Roque said.

The GCQ was retained for NCR, Baguio City and Davao City by President Rodrigo Duterte, he said.

The National Economic Development Authority earlier proposed placing the entire Philippines under the MGCQ starting March 1 to balance the country's response to stop the spread of COVID-19 and the need of Filipinos to start earning and spending.

However, Duterte said "no vaccine rollout, no MGCQ muna," according to Senator Christopher "Bong" Go.

Roque said Duterte gave more premium to public health and safety over the economy. —KG, GMA News