Filtered By: Topstories

More gov’t officials join Lakas-CMD, says Romualdez

Want to see the E22 local results for ? Click location.

More government officials have joined the Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD), the camp of Lakas-CMD president and House Majority Leader Martin Romualdez said Thursday.

Among those who joined were Bacoor City Mayor Lani Mercado Revilla and Davao de Oro Representative Manuel "Way Kurat" Zamora. They were appointed as party heads in their respective provinces.

Romualdez said that with Zamora's entry to Lakas-CMD, the party’s total strength at the House of Representatives is now 48 in which 26 are district congresspeople and 22 are party-list allies.

"Lakas-CMD party is growing stronger and better every day. Our focus
now is to use the party’s strength to help our people in this time of
COVID-19 (coronavirus disease-19) pandemic,” Romualdez said in a press release.

"With Lakas-CMD gaining momentum in the House of Representatives, our
party will continue working closely with Speaker Lord Allan Velasco to
wrap up the approval of the entire legislative agenda of President
Duterte before our term ends in 2022,” he added.

Revilla was formerly with the ruling PDP-Laban. Zamora, meanwhile, maintains his membership with the regional party Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP) led by Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte.

The following officials also joined the Lakas-CMD and were
appointed as provincial chair of their respective provinces: former
Occidental Mindoro Representative Amelita Villarosa; former Batanes Representative Carlo Oliver Diasnes; Glan, Sarangani Mayor Vivien Yap; Antique Board Member Emmanual Palacios Jr.; former Buluan, Maguindanao Mayor Ibrahim “Jong” Mangudadatu; Aklan Board Member Nelson Santamaria; Sittie Aminah Quibranza Dimaporo of Lanao del Norte; Cotabato Board Member Shirlyn Macasarte-Villanueva; Aurora Board Member Philip “Butch” Bautista;
Anthony Wooden of Mountain Province; retired Police Colonel Ronald Joseph
Ocaya of Zamboanga del Norte; Passi City, Iloilo Vice Mayor Jesry
Palmares; and Nueva Valencia, Guimaras Mayor Emmanuel Galila.

The party further named Ma. Alana Samantha Taliño Santos as party
head of Region 12 and Councilor Ralph Ryan Rafael as chairman of
Cotabato’s Third District. — BM, GMA News

Tags: lakascmd, news
Find the latest news

Choose your candidates and print out your selection.

Find out your candidates' profile

Voter Demographics

Find out individual candidate platforms