Filtered By: Topstories

Several areas across Philippines back under MECQ; NCR Plus still under GCQ

President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday placed several provinces under modified enhanced community quarantine due to steep increases in the number of COVID-19 cases over the past few weeks.

In his weekly Talk to the Nation briefing, Duterte said Metro Manila and Bulacan would be under general community quarantine "with some restrictions" from June 16 to June 30, 2021

Rizal, Laguna and Cavite will be under GCQ but with heightened restrictions until the end of June.

Those under a more stringent MECQ are:

  • Santiago
  • Cagayan
  • Apayao
  • Ifugao
  • Bataan
  • Lucena
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Naga
  • Iloilo City
  • Iloilo province
  • Negros Oriental
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga Del Norte
  • Cagayan de Oro
  • Davao City
  • Butuan City
  • Agusan Del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Sur

Other areas under GCQ are:

  • Baguio
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Abra
  • Benguet
  • ISabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Iligan City
  • Davao del Norte
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kuradat
  • Sarangani
  • Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Lanao Del Sur
  • Cotabato City

The rest of the country will be under modified general community quarantine.

Restrictions for MECQ

For the 21 areas under the strict form of quarantine, presidential spokesman Harry Roque reminded that outdoor dining will have 50% capacity while indoor dining is set at 10% capacity.

Outdoor sports, courts or venues are under 50% capacity only while contact and indoor sports are not allowed, Roque said.

Indoor visitor or tourist attractions, libraries, archives, galleries, museums, and outdoor tourist attractions are not allowed, he added.

Also banned are venues for meetings, conferences and exhibitions.

Personal care services are allowed for 30% only, Roque said.

Religious activities such as wakes, baptism and weddings will be 10% allowed in MECQ areas, Roque said.

GCQ restrictions

On the other hand, Roque indicated the following restrictions for the four cities and 20 provinces under GCQ:

  • indoor sports - 50% allowed
  • indoor tourist attractions - 50% allowed
  • venues for meetings, conferences and exhibitions - 50% allowed
  • outdoor tourist attractions - 50% allowed
  • indoor dining - 50% allowed
  • religious gatherings (including baptism, weddings and wakes)  - 30% allowed but LGUs can increase capacity up to 50%

Indoor dining in Rizal, Laguna and Cavite, which are under heightened restrictions,  will be at 30% capacity.

In Metro Manila and Bulacan, which are under GCQ with some restrictions, gyms may operate at 30% capacity.

According to Roque, gyms in these areas may operate an additional 10% if they have safety seal.

Indoor dining in the metropolis may also operate up to 30% capacity if the establishments have safety seal.

Safety Seal is issued to establishments that are deemed compliant with the minimum public health standards needed to prevent COVID-19 transmission. —NB, GMA News