Filtered By: Topstories

Philippines extends ban on travelers from India, UAE, Oman, 4 other areas until June 30

Want to see the E22 local results for ? Click location.

The national government approved the extension of the current ban on travelers coming from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, and Oman until the end of June.

In a statement, presidential spokesman Harry Roque said the travel restrictions will last from June 16 to June 30, 2021.

The Philippines first imposed a ban on incoming travelers from India last April because of the increasing COVID-19 fatalities and infections there.

Delta, the so-called variant of concern, was also first detected in India.  

In May, the travel ban covered travelers coming from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

Last May 16, the government also included Oman and the United Emirates in the ban to avoid the entry of the Delta variant in the Philippines.—LDF, GMA News

Find the latest news

Choose your candidates and print out your selection.

Find out your candidates' profile

Voter Demographics

Find out individual candidate platforms