Filtered By: Topstories

Laguna, Iloilo City, Cagayan de Oro placed under MECQ starting August 16

Laguna, Iloilo City, and Cagayan de Oro City will be placed under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from August 16 until August 31, 2021.

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque announced the new quarantine classifications on Friday morning after President Rodrigo Duterte approved the recommendations of the Inter-Agency Task Force for Emerging Infectious Diseases.

Meanwhile, the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) will remain in the National Capital Region and the province of Bataan until August 20 and August 22, respectively.

The following areas will also be placed under MECQ starting August 16 until the end of the month:

  • Apayao
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Lucena City
  • Rizal province
  • Aklan
  • Iloilo Province
  • Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, and Cebu City

Duterte likewise approved the implementation of general community quarantine with heightened restrictions in the following areas until end of August:

  • Ilocos Sur
  • Cagayan
  • Quezon and Batangas in Region 4-A
  • Naga City
  • Antique
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Negros Oriental
  • Cebu
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Occidental
  • Davao de Oro
  • Butuan City for Mindanao

Meanwhile, the province of Tarlac will be placed under GCQ starting today, August 13 until the end of the month.

From August 16 to August 31, 2021, GCQ will be implemented in the following areas:

  • Baguio City
  • Santiago City
  • Quirino
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Cotabato City

The rest of the areas in the country will be placed under modified GCQ starting August 16 until August 31,2021. — RSJ, GMA News