Filtered By: Topstories

Marawi plebiscite results in creation of 2 new barangays

Lanao del Sur's capital Marawi City now has two new barangays as a result of the plebiscite conducted on Saturday, March 18.

Barangays Boganga II and Datu Dalidigan are the two new local government units created five years after the liberation of Marawi from the 5-month-long siege that started in May 2017 and ended in October of the same year. 

According to the Commission on Elections (Comelec), a total of 948 out of the 950 canvassed plebiscite returns voted "yes" for the establishment of Barangay Boganga II from Barangay Boganga. Two voters voted "no". 

Meanwhile, 473 out of 476 actual voters said “yes” and three said “no” to the creation of Barangay Datu Dalidigan from Barangay Sagonsongan.

Comelec chairman Goerge Garcia said that the voter turnout in Sagonsongan was 98.5%, while Boganga had 95.7%.

The Comelec and National Citizens' Movement for Free Elections (NAMFREL) on Saturday said that the Marawi plebiscite was generally smooth and peaceful. —LBG, GMA Integrated News