GMA News Online

Submission of entries for the 62nd Palanca Awards ongoing

March 18, 2012 8:48am
Continuing its tradition of encouraging excellence in various writing genres, the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature is now accepting entries for this year's contest until midnight of April 30, 2012.
Since the first prizes were given out in 1950 in honor of Don Carlos Palanca Sr., the Palanca Awards has become the country's most prestigious and longest-running literary competition. 
"Born from a simple dream made 61 years ago to help develop Philippine literature, the foundation holds steadfast to its mission of providing nourishment for the national spirit," according to the website of the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature.
Contestants may submit one entry under each of the following regular categories: 
English Division – Short Story, Short Story for Children, Essay, Poetry, Poetry for Children, One-act Play, and Full-length Play; 
Filipino Division – Maikling Kuwento, Maikling Kuwentong Pambata, Sanaysay, Tula, Tulang Pambata, Dulang May Isang Yugto, Dulang Ganap ang Haba, and Dulang Pampelikula; 
Regional Languages Division – Short Story-Cebuano, Short Story-Hiligaynon and Short Story-Iluko.
In 1995, the Hall of Fame was established for Palanca awardees who have won five first prizes in the regular categories. Among the 22 Hall of Famers are children's author Rene Villanueva, fictionist Isagani Cruz, poet Luisa Igloria, fictionist Jose Dalisay Jr., and poet, essayist and novelist Alfred Yuson.
The Palanca Awards aims to help develop Philippine literature by providing incentives for writers to craft their most outstanding works. These pieces are then collected in a treasury of Philippine literary gems, which the Palanca Awards helps disseminate to the public, particularly the students. 
The writings are preserved in several anthologies, and are available in the Foundation Library and schools all over the country.
"Students researching Palanca Award winners as part of their class requirements learn not only the correct forms of writings but also glean from these works the moods and aspirations of our country and our people," according to the foundation website.
Over the years, the Palanca has seen a significant boost in the participation of young writers. The awards committee has also added the Kabataan Division, for writers below 18 years old.
This year's theme for the Kabataan Essay is: “In the advent of e-books, do I still consider printed books to be an important part of education?” In the Filipino section, the Kabataan Sanaysay, the theme is translated as: “Sa paglaganap ng e-books, maituturing ko pa bang mahalagang bahagi ng edukasyon ang mga nakalimbag na aklat?”
Winners will be announced on September 1, 2012. Their works will be added to a collection of 2,052 winning works, including 898 in English, 1,020 in Filipino and 134 in Regional Languages.
The collection now consists of 527 short stories, 366 poetry compilations, 208 essays, 344 one-act plays, 182 full-length plays, 60 teleplays, 54 screenplays, 148 stories for children, 34 futuristic fiction stories, 77 Kabataan essays, 36 novels, and 16 collections of poetry for children.
Contest rules and official entry forms are available at the Foundation's office at 6th Floor, One World Square Building, No.10 Upper McKinley Road, McKinley Town Center, Fort Bonifacio, Taguig City and at the Palanca Awards official website.
Entries with complete requirements may be submitted at the Foundation’s office or through the official website. 
For further information, please email the administrator at or call telephone number 856-0808 loc. 33. - CGL/YA, GMA News
Go to comments

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus