GMA News Online

Global FC becomes first Philippine club in AFC President's Cup

January 3, 2013 9:59pm
UFL champions Global FC became the first team to represent the Philippines in the AFC President's Cup, it was announced Thursday, with club chairman Dan Palami tweeting out a picture of the letter of approval from AFC General Secretary Dato Alex Soosay.

The AFC President's Cup is an annual tournament founded in 2005 which pits the champion teams of "emerging nations" against one another.

In the tournament's brief history, Tajikistan has emerged victorious four times, with one runner-up performance. Kyrgyzstan is the second most prolific nation with two first place finishes, and four runners-up placings.

Tajikistan side Regar TadAZ has won the title three times, though the 2012 edition of the competition was one by another team from that country, Istiqlol.

Global FC had won the UFL championship in June of 2012, trumping Kaya FC on goal difference.

The team boasts of numerous members of the national side known as the Azkals, including Denis Wolf, Marwin and Marvin Angeles, Carli de Murga, Demitrius Omphroy and Patrick Reichelt.

The group stage of the tournament is currently slated for May 2 to 12. - AMD, GMA News
Go to comments

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus