GMA News Online

DOH launches certification program for nurses in 11 fields

September 29, 2013 7:56am
To boost the competencies of nurses in the Philippines, the Department of Health has launched a Nurse Certification Program in 11 specialty fields, DOH Secretary Enrique Ona said.

Ona said the program is open to registered Filipino nurses and foreign nurses with Special Temporary Permits from the Professional Regulations Commission.

“This program opens a wide range of opportunities and improves employability of the nurses who have been certified 'competent' under this initiative,” Ona said.

The 11 specialty areas include:

cardiovascular nursing
renal nursing
pediatric nursing
pulmonary nursing
mental health nursing
maternal and child health nursing
infectious diseases nursing
orthopedic and rehabilitation nursing
trauma and emergency nursing
operating room nursing
anesthesia care nursing

Ona said the program is a "key strategy to enhance the competencies of the country’s nurses who play vital roles in the attainment of universal health care or Kalusugan Pangkalahatan.”

The DOH said the courses will be available at selected DOH Specialty hospitals. These include:

- cardiovascular nursing at the Philippine Heart Center
- renal nursing at the National Kidney and Transplant Institute
- pediatric nursing at the Philippine Children’s Medical Center and the National Children’s Hospital
- pulmonary nursing at the Lung Center of the Philippines
- mental health nursing at the National Center for Mental Health

Other courses will be held at:

- maternal and child nursing at the Dr. Jose Fabella Memorial Hospital
- infectious disease nursing at the San Lazaro Hospital
- orthopedic and rehabilitation nursing at the Philippine Orthopedic Center
- trauma and emergency nursing at the East Avenue Medical Center (EAMC)
- operating room nursing at the NKTI and PHC
- anesthesia care nursing at the PHC, EAMC, the Quirino Memorial Medical Center, and the Jose R. Reyes Memorial Medical Center.

Under the program, nurses will be certified based on a set of competencies in both basic and specialty areas.

"The components of the certification include competency assessments of self and workplace, competency-based learning interventions and accreditation of providers," the DOH said. — LBG, GMA News
Go to comments

We welcome healthy discussions and friendly debate! Please click Flag to alert us of a comment that may be abusive or threatening. Read our full comment policy here.
Comments Powered by Disqus