Clint Escamis, Enoch Valdez, Jacob Cortez banner Collegiate Press Corps Mythical Five | NCAA Philippines

Three NCAA stars have made it to the Collegiate Press Corps Mythical Five for men's basketball as they are set to get feted during the Annual Awards Night on June 17 at the Discovery Suites.

Mapua University gunner and reigning MVP Clint Escamis, alongside Lyceum of the Philippines University's Enoch Valdez, and former San Beda University standout Jacob Cortez have been named to the Mythical class and they will join Kevin Quiambao of De La Salle University and Malick Diouf of University of the Philippines.

Escamis was nothing short of impressive in his homecoming in Season 99, steering the Cardinals back to the finals stage while also capturing the Rookie MVP plum in the process. However, they fell to the Cortez-led Red Lions in the championship series as the Mendiola crew halted its five-year title drought. 

Valdez, meanwhile, was the key cog for the Pirates for the past three seasons, where he guided the school to back-to-back Final Four runs in Seasons 98 and 99. Currently, he is already making a mark in the professional ranks with the NLEX Road Warriors. 

Quiambao and Diouf recently met in the finals of UAAP Season 86, where the former fueled the Green Archers' dramatic title run that handed the school its first championship after seven years. 

On the distaff side, UST's Kent Pastrana alongside her teammate and Season 86 Finals MVP Tantoy Ferrer, FEU Lady Tamaraws’ Josee Kaputu, Rookie of the Year in UP Fighting Maroons' Favour Onoh, and Season MVP in Ateneo's Kacey Dela Rosa.

Pastrana came up big for the Growling Tigresses all throughout the season, but none bigger than his huge plays during their finals duel against no less than National University, who was seeking to extend its reign to eight seasons. 

The win allowed the España crew to quench a 17-year title wait. 

—Bea Micaller/JKC, GMA Integrated News

Other Stories