Filtered By: Money

DPWH opens Sta. Monica-Lawton ‘Kalayaan’ Bridge on Independence Day

Want to see the E22 local results for ? Click location.

The bridge connecting two major business centers in Metro Manila has been officially opened for motorists on Saturday, June 12.

The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) opened and inaugurated the Sta. Monica-Lawton Bridge, dubbed the “Kalayaan Bridge,” in time for the celebration of the country’s 123rd Independence Day.

“With the opening of this bridge, DPWH is a few steps closer to completing the entire BGC-Ortigas Center Link Road Project that will reduce travel time between Bonifacio Global City and Pasig City/Mandaluyong City to only 12 minutes,” Public Works Secretary Mark Villar said.

The Sta. Monica-Lawton Bridge forms part of the P1.79-billion BGC-Ortigas Center Link Road Project.

DPWH Undersecretary Emil Sadain said the 1.367-kilometer BGC-Ortigas Center Link Road Project also involves rehabilitation and widening of the 362-meter Brixton (corner Reliance Street) to Fairlane Street and construction of the 565-meter Lawton Avenue – Global City Viaduct which will traverse Lawton Avenue to the entrance of BGC.

The BGC-Ortigas Center Link Road Project is one of the major Build, Build, Build undertakings supportive of the EDSA Decongestion Program which aims to improve the traffic situation along EDSA and other major thoroughfares in Metro Manila.

Sadain said the viaduct structure traversing Lawton Avenue up to the entrance of BGC is targeted for completion by the last quarter of 2021.

When fully completed, the bridge and road project will be able to accommodate as much as 20% of the traffic volume of EDSA and C-5 Road.

The ceremonial opening of the bridge was attended by Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea; Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade; BCDA Chairman Vince Dizon; MMDA Chairman Benhur Abalos; DPWH Undersecretary Sadain; DPWH Assistant Secretary Wilfredo Mallari; Pasig City Congressman Roman Romulo; Makati City Congressman Luis Campos; Taguig City Congresswoman Maria Laarni Cayetano; Pasig City Mayor Vico Sotto; Makati City Mayor Abigail Binay; Taguig City Mayor Lino Cayetano; DPWH Project Directors Virgilio Castillo, Benjamin Bautista, Ramon Arriola, and Johnson Domingo; DPWH Project Manager Ricarte Mañalac and Project Engineer Emmanuel Regodon; and among other government officials. — DVM, GMA News

Find the latest news

Choose your candidates and print out your selection.

Find out your candidates' profile

Voter Demographics

Find out individual candidate platforms