Filtered By: Showbiz

Cinemanila '08 winners feted at Malacañang

Two Filipino directors almost did not make it to the awarding ceremony of Dekada Cinemanila because of the strict dress code at Malacañang Palace. Carnivore director Ato Bautista and Brillante "Dante" Mendoza were initially forbidden to enter the Rizal Hall although both of them were in Barong Tagalog. Direk Ato was wearing blue maong pants while Direk Dante was wearing rubber shoes that day. After some discussion, they were given permission to enter and Direk Ato's film ended up receiving two awards that afternoon. President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo handed out the bulol trophies during the awarding ceremonies of Dekada Cinemanila yesterday, October 20. PGMA was joined by Cinemanila International Film Festival (CIFF) festival director Amable "Tikoy" Aguiluz VI, National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) chairperson and Department of Education Undersecretary Vilma Labrador, and NCCA executive director Cecile Guidote Alvarez. In her speech, Usec. Labrador pointed out that workshops of Cinemanila will become the basis of media arts modules that will benefit media arts schools. Direk Tikoy also gave a speech wherein he reminisced about the early days of Cinemanila, when they were still having difficulty choosing locally-produced films that could compete with international filmmakers. "Our aim was to show films from all over the world and at the same time, we plan to show Filipino films to the world. That has been our mission from the very beginning: to promote Philippine cinema to the world audience and promote world cinema to the Philippine audience. The face of Filipino cinema has changed dramatically over the years. Now, we have ten films and it is so hard to choose which to include in the international competition. "In 2001, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo graced our awarding ceremony in Makati and for the last three years, she has been hosting the awarding ceremony in Malacañang. And that's a statement—it's telling everyone that there is support for the young filmmakers. Our objective is really to help young filmmakers and create an environment so they can grow and fulfill their destiny of reviving the stature of the Philippines as the center of Southeast Asian cinema." Most of the winners were unable to personally receive their awards. Among those who attended were Kenneth Moraleda, winner of Vic Silayan Best Actor award for Lucky Miles and Sherad Anthony Sanchez, recipient of the Lino Brocka Grand Prize for his film Imburnal. Direk Ato's film Carnivore earned for him the Best Director Award. His lead actor, Carlo Aquino, bagged the Best Actor award in the Digital Lokal competition while Jodi Sta. Maria of the period film Sisa bagged the Best Actress award. Both Carlo and Jodi were not present at the awarding. Despite experiencing delays when the movie was rated X by the Movie and Television Review and Classification Board, Next Attraction bagged the Lino Brocka Grand Jury Prize in the Digital Lokal competition. Directed by Raya Martin, this indie film starring Coco Martin and Paolo Rivera was deemed unfit for public viewing because of the kissing scene between the two men. The producers of the film appealed the decision of the MTRCB. Adela, directed by Adolf Alix Jr., bested six other entries for the Best Actress category of the Southeast Asian competition. PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal) was able to interview the lead star Ms. Anita Linda on the phone right after the awarding ceremony. "I don't know what to say...Nagbiro pa ako kay Arleen Cuevas [producer of the film] na kapag nanalo ako, siya ang kumuha ng award," said the veteran actress. "I am proud na kahit maraming kalaban, akalain mo pa ang mga kalaban. Salamat at kahit na tumatanda na ako, then suddenly this happened...It's like being reborn again, it's like a rebirth. I'm proud as a Filipino to be chosen for our country." She later adds with a chuckle: "Pagbaba ko ng telepono, ibabalita ko sa lahat ng kamag-anak ko na nanalo ako!" Ang Manghuhula star Glaiza de Castro and Ana Capri also attended the hour-long awarding ceremony that marks the tenth anniversary of Cinemanila. Screenplay writer-poet-journalist Jose "Pete" Lacaba Jr. was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his numerous contributions to Philippine cinema. He previously told PEP about his reaction to this honor. "Nakakataba ng puso [ang parangal]. And I'm happy not just for myself but for my fellow screenwriters. To the audience, a movie is usually all about the stars, and to critics, it's 'a film by' the director. The Cinemanila Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the major contribution that screenwriters make as co-authors in cinema." Bulol trophies (which depict the Ifugao rice god holding up a film reel) and cash prizes were awarded to the winners. For the finale, the Cercado sisters performed the song "Tagumpay Nating Lahat." The four girls, who all wore silver terno gowns, are best known for winning in the 2006 World Championship of the Performing Arts in Hollywood, California. Here are the winners of the 10th edition of Cinemanila: Young Cinema Marlon by Ralston Jover and James Amparo as Best Documentary Tumbang Preso by Antoinette Jadaone as Best Short Film Surreal Ramdom Text Messages by Christopher Gozum - Ishmael Bernal Award Southeast Asia Film Competition Frou Frou...Shhh, Huwag Mong Sabihin kay Itay by Michael Juat as Best Southeast Asian Short Film Confessional by Jerrold Tarog and Ruel Dahis Antipuesto as Best SEA Film Mario Maurer - Best Actor for Love of Siam Anita Linda - Best Actress for Adela Digital Lokal Lino Brocka Grand Prize to Sherad Anthony Sanchez for his film Imburnal Lino Brocka Grand Jury Prize to Raya Martin for Next Attraction Best Actor - Carlo Aquino for Carnivore Best Actress - Jodi Sta. Maria for Sisa Best Director - Ato Bautista for Carnivore International Competition Lino Brocka Award Grand Prize - The Band's Visit by Eran Kolirin Grand Jury Prize - The Amazing Truth about Queen Raquela by Olaf de Fleur Johannesson Vic Silayan Award for Best Actress - Angeli Bayani for Melacholia Vic Silayan Award for Best Actor - Kenneth Moraleda for Lucky Miles United Nations Millennium Development Goals Prize: Zan-Ay: Candles Burning on Still Water by Milo Tolentino . - Philippine Entertainment Portal