Filtered By: Sports

Malick Diouf wins UAAP Season 85 MVP award

University of the Philippines big man Malick Diouf has been officially named as the Most Valuable Player of UAAP Season 85. 

Individual awardees were recognized on Wednesday before Game 2 of the Finals at the Smart Araneta Coliseum. 

At the end of the elimination round, Diouf had 73.857 statistical points from 10.79 points, 10.86 rebounds, 2.86 assists, 1.5 steals, and 1.57 blocks per game.

Along with Diouf, other Mythical Five members include teammate Carl Tamayo, Ateneo de Manila University's Forthsky Padrigao and Dave Ildefonso, and University of the East's Luis Villegas.

Meanwhile, De La Salle University's Kevin Quiambao is the Rookie of the Year after getting 56.615 statistical points from 11.23 points, 6.54 rebounds, 3.23 assists, 1.08 steals, and 0.38 blocks at the end of the elimination round.

UP drew first blood against Ateneo last Sunday, 72-66.

—JMB, GMA Integrated News