Filtered By: Topstories

Several Metro Manila LGUs impose 8 p.m.-5 a.m. COVID-19 curfew

Several Metro Manila local government units passed ordinances or issued orders imposing similar 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. curfews in there localities in light of the threat from coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

Among the LGU that imposed a curfew were:

  • Caloocan
  • Las Piñas
  • Makati
  • Mandaluyong
  • Manila
  • Muntinlupa
  • Navotas
  • Parañaque
  • Pasay
  • Quezon City
  • San Juan
  • Taguig

In Manila, Mayor Francisco "Isko Moreno" Domagoso explained in a Facebook Live video that the curfew is in line with the local government’s Code COVID-19 Contain and Delay response plan against the transmission of the virus.

“May bago pong curfew na magaganap sa lungsod ng Maynila. Simula alas otso ng gabi hanggang alas singko ng umaga, paiiralin ang curfew sa Manila,” he said.


Domagoso said a resident may only be allowed to go out during curfew hours in cases of emergency, and for purposes of buying basic needs and fulfilling work-related requirements.

“During the curfew hours, no person will be allowed in the streets, commercial establishments, recreation centers, malls or other areas outside the immediate vicinity of their residence,” he said.

In Makati, Mayor Abigail Binay said that though her Executive Order No. 10 imposed a curfew, groceries, pharmacies, 24/7 convenience stores, diagnostic centers, banks, hotels, condotels, and restaurants would be allowed to remain open.

Restaurants, carinderias, and “jollyjeeps” would not be allowed to accept dine-in customers. Only take-out and delivery transactions would be permitted.

Under her Executive Order 20, Quezon City's Mayor Joy Belmonte explained that during the city's 8 p.m.-5 a.m. "public safety hours" all persons within the city were "prohibited to roam around, loiter, wander, stay or meander in all public places, whether singly or in groups,"

Public places include but were not limited to streets, highways, sidewalks, parking lots, and vacant lots.

The QC order covered common areas in and about churches, apartments, buildings, office buildings, hospitals, schools, malls or shopping centers, commercial establishments, and places of entertainment such as movie theaters and similar places or establishments.

Metro Manila has been placed under community quarantine beginning 12:01 a.m. on Sunday as part of measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19. —Joviland Rita/KG/DVM, GMA News