Filtered By: Topstories

Metro Manila mayors agreed on 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. curfew during GCQ — Palace

Metro Manila mayors have agreed to implement a daily curfew starting from 8 p.m. until 5 a.m. after the National Capital Region (NCR) returned to general community quarantine, Malacañang said Wednesday.

In an interview with CNN Philippines, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said the new curfew schedule was in line with the stricter GCQ strategy pushed by the NCR mayors.

“I understand that the mayors voted and there was a majority that the curfew hours should be 8 (p.m.) to 5 (a.m.),” Roque said.

Roque later clarified that the new policy will not be implemented for now in Manila, Muntinlupa and Pasig cities because these local government units have yet to amend their curfew ordinances.

“Manila, Muntinlupa and Pasig local governments, however, agreed to align the curfew hours of 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. within the week,” he said in a statement.

Metro Manila transitioned to GCQ on Wednesday after two weeks of modified enhanced community quarantine or stricter lockdown.

The GCQ in NCR  —the epicenter of the COVID-19 outbreak in the country — will run until August 31. —Virgil Lopez/KBK, GMA News