Filtered By: Topstories

San Juan City Mayor Zamora elected MMC president

San Juan City Mayor Francis Zamora has been elected as the new president of the Metro Manila Council (MMC) and co-chairperson of the Regional Development Council, the city government said Sunday.

In a statement, the San Juan City government said Zamora was elected during the joint session of the two bodies in the city on Saturday.

“I am very thankful to have been given the opportunity to serve as President of the MMC, a powerful consultative and recommendatory body that makes sure the National Capital Region (NCR) moves in a cohesive and united front for development and progress,” Zamora said.

Zamora said he would prioritize the approval of the single ticketing system for all 17 local government units in the NCR.

MMC is composed of the 17 mayors in the NCR.

The MMC president is usually elected from the senior or third term-mayors in NCR, the city government said.

However, the LGU said all five third termers waived their opportunity for Zamora, who is on his second term as San Juan City mayor.

Zamora was also elected as co-chairperson of the council co-chaired by  Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairperson Romando Artes.

The Regional Development Council is also composed of the NCR mayors with executives and representatives from other government agencies, non-government organizations, and the private sector. —Joviland Rita/KBK, GMA Integrated News