Filtered By: Topstories

Pilot run of NCR single ticketing system for traffic violations begins May 2, 2023

All 17 mayors in Metro Manila, the Land Transportation Office (LTO), and the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) on Thursday signed a memorandum of agreement (MOA) that would implement a single ticketing system for traffic violations.

According to a report of dzBB Super Radyo's Glen Juego, the mayors signed Metro Manila Traffic Code of 2023, which identifies the 20 common traffic violations in Metro Manila and consolidates their corresponding penalties.

Also signed by the Metro Manila Council (MMC) members and the government agencies is a data privacy agreement for the sharing of information of the motorists.

Among the common violations under the single-ticketing system are illegal parking; overloading; defective motor vehicle accessories; dress code violations; obstruction; and disregarding traffic signs, number coding, truck bans, and tricycle bans.

San Juan City Mayor Francis Zamora, MMC President, said the pilot run for the system will be rolled out in seven cities starting May 2, 2023.

These are Manila, Quezon City, Parañaque, Muntinlupa, Caloocan Coty, Valenzuela City, and San Juan.

MMDA Chairperson Romando Artes said the pilot testing will check whether there are areas that need improvement before implementing the system in all cities and municipality in the capital region.

Zamora said the system was finally approved by the MMC after 28 years. — Sundy Locus/BM, GMA Integrated News