Filtered By: Topstories

78 provinces, 32k barangays followed ECQ guidelines —Duterte

Majority of the local government units followed the guidelines for the implementation of the enhanced community quarantine, President Rodrigo Duterte told Congress on Monday.

Citing a report by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), the President said 78 provinces, 139 cities, 1,334 municipalities and 32,139 barangays have complied with the guidelines set by the national government.

Duterte also reported that a total of 297 or 18% of 1,634 cities and municipalities have passed ordinances to put a price cap on burial expenses during the COVID-19 emergency.

The Philippines has 81 provinces, 146 cities, 1,488 municipalities and 42,045 barangays based on the 2019 data of the DILG.

Under the Bayanihan to Heal as One Act, LGU officials found guilty of disobeying national government policies or directives in imposing quarantines shall be penalized with a jail term of two months or a fine ranging from P10,000 to P1 million, or both. —LDF, GMA News