Filtered By: Topstories

ATC labels CPP-NPA, IS East Asia terrorist organizations

The Anti-Terrorism Council designated the Communist Party of the Philippines and the New People's Army (CPP-NPA), as well as other groups, as terrorist organizations.

The CPP-NPA was designated a terrorist group in Resolution Number 12 which was approved on December 9, 2020.

The Anti-Terrorism Council cited Section 25 of the RA 11479 or The Anti–Terrorism Act of 2020 which stated that it may designate an individual, groups of persons, organization or association whether domestic or foreign, as a terrorist, one who finances terrorism or a terrorist organization or group "upon finding a probable cause."

Following the designation, the CPP-NPA's assets are now subject to the authority of the Anti-Money Laundering Council (AMLC) for investigation or freezing based on Section 11 of RA 10168.

According to Section 8 of RA 10168, any person who knowingly deals with any property or funds of designated persons or makes available any property or funds or financial services or other related services to such designated persons faces criminal and civil liability.

"For one, the CPP/NPA, which has been engaged in violent and destructive activities for the last five decades, is now answerable to the applicable provisions of the country’s more responsive laws. The ATC found probable cause to designate the CPP/NPA as a terrorist group for its violent and armed activities that resulted in the destruction of properties, loss of lives, and damage to business and economy as cited in the pending proscription case and other collated reports from the security and intelligence sector," the anti-terror body said.

The ATC added that the CPP-NPA used "deception, threats, and violence to be able to raise funds through unlawful exaction of money, extortion, collection of so-called permit-to-campaign (PTC) and permit-to-win (PTW) fees during the campaign period, and soliciting material support from international NGOs under the guise of being a pro-people and humanitarian organization."

Islamic State East Asia

In its Resolution Number 13, which was also approved on December 9, the ATC also designated the following groups as terrorist organizations:

(1) Islamic State in Iraq and Syria in South-East Asia

(2) Dawlatul Islamiyah Waliyatul Masrik

(3) Dawlatul Islamiyyah Waliyatul Mashriq

(4) IS East Asia Division

(5) Maute Group

(6) Islamic State East Asia

(7) Maute ISIS

(8) Grupong ISIS

(9) Grupo ISIS,

(10) Khilafah Islamiyah

(11) KIM

(12) Ansharul Khilafah

(13) Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters-Bungos

(14) Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom FightersAbubakar

(15) Jama’atu al-Muhajirin wal Ansar fil Filibin

(16) Daulah Islamiyah

(17) other Daesh-affiliated groups in the Philippines.

The Islamic State East Asia and its local affiliates had pledged allegiance to the Islamic State with the goal of establishing a caliphate in the country through "violent means," according to the ATC.

"The collated information from members of the NIC (National Intelligence Committee) and the terrorist list of the UN Security Council, together with the previous designation of the same violent extremist groups by the US, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand, provided the well-founded ground that said groups are engaged in terrorist activities," the council said.

In July, President Rodrigo Duterte signed the anti-terror bill into law despite objections from various groups, including the United Nations human rights body and the Bangsamoro Transition Authority. — DVM, GMA News