Filtered By: Topstories

NCR Plus placed under MECQ until 30 April 2021

Metro Manila and the surrounding provinces of Bulacan, Rizal, Cavite, and Laguna will be placed under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) beginning April 12 until April 30.

Santiago City, Isabela, Quirino province and Abra will also be placed under MECQ during the same period.

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque announced the new quarantine classifications for these areas on Sunday, the day when the enhanced community quarantine status of Metro Manila and its surrounding provinces would lapse.

Meanwhile, the following areas will be placed under the less strict general community quarantine from April 12 to 30:

  •    Cagayan
  •    Isabela
  •    Nueva Vizcaya
  •    Batangas
  •    Quezon province
  •    Tacloban City
  •    Iligan City
  •    Davao City
  •    Lanao Del Sur

The rest of the country, on the other hand, will remain under modified general community quarantine.

Roque said he will be discussing the difference between ECQ and MECQ during his regular press briefing on Monday.

The rising number of COVID-19 cases in the country prompted Metro Manila and its surrounding provinces, collectively called the "NCR Plus" to be placed under stricter community quarantine classifications.

On Saturday, the Philippines reported 12,674 new COVID-19 infections, bringing the total number of active cases in the country to 190,245, the highest recorded this year.

The country has reported a total of 853,209 COVID-19 cases so far. —LBG, GMA News