Filtered By: Topstories

IATF extends Alert Level system in NCR, announces new quarantine classifications

The Inter-Agency Task Force has decided to extend the pilot implementation of the Alert Levels System in the National Capital Region (NCR) until October 15, 2021. 

According to a statement, the IATF also approved the recommendation to increase by an additional 10 percent the allowable indoor capacities of dine-in services, in-person religious services, and personal care services in areas under Alert Level 4 of the Pilot Implementation of Alert Levels System, for fully vaccinated individuals.

The IATF also approved the reopening of fitness studios and gyms at a limited 20 percent capacity for fully vaccinated individuals, provided that all gym workers should also be fully vaccinated.

Both clients and service providers shall also wear face mask at all times and no group activities will be allowed.

Further, establishments allowed to operate under Alert Level 4, which have been awarded the Safety Seal Certification shall be allowed additional venue capacity of 10 percent beyond the prescribed venue or seating capacity. 

Quarantine classifications

The IATF said the following areas will be under a modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from October 1 until October 15:

  • Apayao
  • Kalinga
  • Batanes
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Lucena City
  • Rizal
  • Laguna
  • Naga City
  • Iloilo Province

Meanwhile, the following areas will be under a general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions from October 1 until October 31:

  • Abra
  • Baguio City
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Pangasinan
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • City of Santiago
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Quezon
  • Batangas
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Iloilo City
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Negros Oriental
  • Bohol
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Occidental
  • Butuan City
  • Surigao del Sur

Roque said Davao de Oro will also be under GCQ with heightened restrictions but only from October 1 to October 15.

Areas under GCQ from October 1 to October 31 include:


  • Ilocos Norte
  • Dagupan City
  • Benguet
  • Ifugao
  • Tarlac
  • Marinduque
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Albay
  • Camarines Norte


  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Cebu City
  • Cebu Province
  • Mandaue City
  • Siquijor
  • Tacloban City


  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Iligan City
  • Davao City
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Cotabato City
  • Lanao del Sur

The rest of the country will be placed under a modified GCQ.

Metro Manila was placed under Alert Level 4 last September 16 and its pilot implementation ran until September 30.

Health groups have previously batted for an extension of the alert level 4 in NCR as the number of COVID-19 cases decrease.

Vaccination for minors

The presidential spokesperson said the IATF has also approved the pilot rollout of the vaccination for minors aged 12 to 17 years old.

“The pilot will begin on October 15, 2021 under a phased approach as may be determined by the National Vaccination Operations Center,” he said.

The IATF also affirmed the opening of the vaccination program for the general population nationwide.

Roque said the IATF has also allowed community healthcare workers to move within, into, and out of an area under granular lockdown if their institutions are unable to provide accommodations for them.

Restricted countries

The Philippines has, meanwhile, imposed travel restrictions on Bermuda from October 1 to October 15 amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Roque said Bermuda is the only country on the “red list.”

The following countries are on the green list: American Samoa, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chad, China (mainland), Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Hungary, Madagascar, Mali, Federated States of Micronesia, Montserrat, New Zealand, Niger, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Poland, Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands), Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sierra Leone, Sint Eustatius, Taiwan, Algeria, Bhutan, Cook Islands, Eritrea, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niue, North Korea, Saint Helena, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, and Yemen.

Meanwhile, the remaining countries are on the yellow list.—NB/LDF, GMA News