Filtered By: Topstories

177 schools to open for pilot face-to-face classes — DepEd

The Department of Education (DepEd) announced on Thursday that 177 schools, including 28 public schools from Metro Manila, will join the pilot run of in-person classes starting December 6.

This addition tops the 118 schools that were initially approved by DepEd to conduct the limited face-to-face classes in November.

In the National Capital Region, there will be two schools each coming from Manila, Quezon City, Caloocan City, Mandaluyong City, Marikina City, Muntinlupa City, Navotas City, Parañaque City, Pasig City, Taguig City, Valenzuela City, and Las Piñas City.

Meanwhile, one school each will be coming from the cities of San Juan, Pasay, Malabon, and Makati.

The pilot testing of face-to-face classes started on November 15 in several areas in the country amid the COVID-19 pandemic, in which 100 public schools--subject to strict health protocols--are participating.

On the other hand, 18 private schools from several areas nationwide that were deemed low risk for COVID-19 also started their own pilot face-to-face classes on November 22.

These schools are in areas deemed safe by both the DepEd and the Department of Health (DOH).

According to DepEd, the assessment period for the initial run of pilot face-to-face classes will be until December 22, 2021. The pilot study is set to end on January 31, 2022.

Results of the pilot testing will be presented to President Rodrigo Duterte in February 2022. If all goes well, expansion will start on March 7, 2022. — RSJ, GMA News