Filtered By: Topstories

NCR to remain under Alert Level 2 until Feb. 28, 2022 —Palace

The National Capital Region will remain under Alert Level 2 until February 28, 2022, Malacañang announced on Monday.

In an announcement, acting presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles said the following areas will be under Alert Level 3:

  • Iloilo City,
  • Iloilo province
  • Guimaras
  • Zamboanga City
  • Davao de Oro
  • Davao Occidental
  • South Cotabato

Malacañang made the announcement after the Metro Manila Council, composed of the 17 mayors in Metro Manila, unanimously agreed that the region should remain under Alert Level 2 for the remainder of February.

Under Alert Level 2 — the second lowest in the new alert level system — certain establishments and activities are allowed at 50% capacity indoors for fully vaccinated adults (and minors, even if unvaccinated), and 70% capacity outdoors. 

Under Alert Level 3, meanwhile, several establishments are allowed to operate at 30% indoor venue capacity but exclusively for fully vaccinated people, and 50% outdoor venue capacity as long as employees are fully vaccinated.

In-person classes, contact sports, fun fairs, perya, and casinos are among the activities and establishments that are prohibited under Alert Level 3.

Other areas under Alert Level 2 from February 16 to 28 are:


  • Abra, Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga and Mountain Province in the Cordillera Administrative Region;
  • Dagupan City, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan in Region I;
  • Batanes, City of Santiago, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya and Quirino in Region II;
  • Bulacan, Angeles City, Aurora, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales in Region III;
  • Cavite, Rizal, Batangas, Laguna, Lucena City and Quezon Province in Region IV-A;
  • Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City and Romblon in Region IV-B;
  • Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Naga City and Sorsogon in Region V



  • Aklan, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz and Negros Occidental in Region VI;
  • Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental and Siquijor in Region VII; and
  • Ormoc City, Tacloban City, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Biliran and Southern Leyte in Region VIII


  • City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga Sibugay in Region IX;
  • Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro City, Camiguin, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental in Region X;
  • Davao City, Davao del Sur, Davao del Norte and Davao Oriental in Region XI;
  • General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani and Sultan Kudarat in Region XII;
  • Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Butuan City and Dinagat Islands in Region XIII (CARAGA); and
  • Basilan, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City and Lanao del Sur in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

The Philippines on Sunday reported 3,050 new COVID-19 infections, the lowest so far this year.  —Giselle Ombay/KBK, GMA News