Filtered By: Topstories

178 reported dead, 111 missing due to Agaton —NDRRMC

The reported death toll due to the onslaught of Tropical Depression Agaton is now at 178 as of Wednesday morning, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) said.

In its 8 a.m. report, the NDRRMC said 156 of the fatalities were reported from Eastern Visayas, 17 from Western Visayas, three from Davao, and two from Central Visayas.

The NDRRMC said 111 people were reported missing while eight were injured due to Agaton.

However, only the reports on 18 deaths, seven missing people, and six injured people have been confirmed so far, according to the NDRRMC.

Affected populace

A total of 2,081,353 people or 600,062 families were affected by Agaton in 2,427 barangays in Bicol, Western Visayas, Central Visayas, Eastern Visayas, Northern Mindanao, Davao, Soccsksargen, Caraga, and Bangsamoro.

Of these, 109,721 individuals or 29,978 families were staying inside 450 evacuation centers.

The NDRRMC said 11,279 houses were damaged — 10,519 partially and 760 totally — in Bicol, Western Visayas, Central Visayas, Eastern Visayas, Northern Mindanao, Davao, Soccsksargen, and Caraga.

Damage to agriculture, meanwhile, reached P257,025,441 in Western Visayas, Eastern Visayas, Northern Mindanao, Soccsksargen, and Bangsamoro.

The NDRRMC also said P6,950,000 worth of damage in infrastructure were reported in Western Visayas, Central Visayas, Northern Mindanao, and Bangsamoro.

Also according to the NDRRMC, 462 flooding incidents, 98 landslides, six flash floods, and three maritime incidents were reported due to Agaton. At least 58 roads and eight bridges were still unpassable.

Meanwhile, 76 cities and municipalities experienced power interruption, of which 12 have been restored. Three areas also experienced water supply interruptions.

Forty-one ports suspended trips or have implemented suspension of operations, of which, six have already resumed operations. A total of 8,437 passengers; 2,473rolling cargoes; 14 vessels; and a motorbanca remained stranded in some affected regions.

A total of 18 cities and municipalities declared a state of calamity, including Sara, Lemery, Passi, Pototan, and Batad in Iloilo, Cateel in Davao Oriental, Trento in Agusan del Sur, and the entire province of Davao de Oro.

According to the NDRRMC, assistance worth P63,886,919  has been provided to the affected areas. —KBK, GMA News