Filtered By: Topstories

NCR, over 80 other areas under Alert Level 1 until May 15 —Palace

Amid fears of a possible surge in COVID-19 infections after the May 9 elections, the government has retained the Alert Level 1 classification on the National Capital Region (NCR) until May 15, 2022.

In a statement citing the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF), acting presidential spokesperson Martin Andanar said also placed under Alert Level 1 from May 1 to 15 are:

For Luzon

  • Cordillera Administrative Region: Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, and Baguio City;
  • Region I: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, and Dagupan City;
  • Region II: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Quirino, and City of Santiago;
  • Region III: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, and Olongapo City;
  • Region IV-A: Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, and Lucena City;
  • Region IV-B: Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, and Puerto Princesa City;
  • Region V: Albay, Catanduanes, Naga City 

For the Visayas

  • Region VI: Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo Province, Bacolod City, and Iloilo City;
  • Region VII: Siquijor, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City
  • Region VIII: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, and Tacloban City

For Mindanao

  • Region IX: Zamboanga City;
  • Region X: Camiguin, Bukidnon, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, and Iligan City;
  • Region XI: Davao City; 
  • CARAGA: Surigao del Sur and Butuan City

Meanwhile, the following component cities and municipalities are also under Alert Level 1 from May 1 to 15, 2022.  

For Luzon

  • Cordillera Administrative Region: Tublay, Benguet; 
  • Region IV-A: Candelaria, Quezon; Dolores, Quezon; and San Antonio, Quezon;
  • Region IV-B: Cagayancillo, Palawan;
  • Region V: Caramoan, Pili, and Tigaon, Camarines Sur; and Capalonga, Camarines Norte

For the Visayas

  • Region VI: Candoni, Negros Occidental and Tobias Fornier (Dao), Antique;
  • Region VII: Amlan (Ayuquitan), Negros Oriental and Duero, Bohol;
  • Region VIII: Matalom, Leyte

For Mindanao

  • Region IX: Jose Dalman (Ponot) and Labason, Zamboanga del Norte; Molave and Ramon Magsaysay (Liargo) Zamboanga del Sur; and Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay;
  • Region X: Tudela, Misamis Occidental; Baroy, Lanao del Norte; Lala, Lanao del Norte; and Tubod, Lanao del Norte; 
  • Region XI: Caraga, Davao Oriental; 
  • Region XII: City of Koronadal, South Cotabato; Arakan, North Cotabato; and Lebak, Sultan Kudarat;
  • CARAGA: Kitcharao, Agusan del Norte; Santa Josefa, Agusan del Sur; Libjo (Albor), Dinagat Islands; and General Luna, Surigao del Norte;
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao: South Upi, Maguindanao and Turtle Islands, Tawi-Tawi

Under Alert Level 1, intrazonal and interzonal travel shall be allowed without regard to age and comorbidities.

All establishments, persons, or activities, are allowed to operate, work, or be undertaken at full on-site or venue/seating capacity provided it is consistent with minimum public health standards.

President Rodrigo Duterte earlier said the country will not deescalate to Alert Level 0 until "everything is alright."

Alert Level 2

The following provinces, highly urbanized cities (HUCs), and independent component cities (ICCs), meanwhile, shall be placed under Alert Level 2 for the same period:

For Luzon

  • Cordillera Administrative Region: Benguet, Ifugao;
  • Region II: Nueva Vizcaya;
  • Region IV-A: Quezon Province;
  • Region IV-B: Occidental Mindoro and Palawan;
  • Region V: Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, and Sorsogon

For the Visayas

  • Region VI: Antique and Negros Occidental;
  • Region VII: Bohol, Cebu, and Negros Oriental; and
  • Region VIII: Leyte, Northern Samar and Western Samar

For Mindanao

  • Region IX: City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga Sibugay;
  • Region X: Lanao del Norte and Misamis Occidental;
  • Region XI: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Davao de Oro and Davao Occidental;
  • Region XII: General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat and South Cotabato;
  • CARAGA: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands and Surigao del Norte;
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao: Basilan, Cotabato City, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi

Under Alert Level 2 certain establishments and activities are allowed at 50% capacity indoors for fully vaccinated adults (and minors, even if unvaccinated), and 70% capacity outdoors.

"Alert Level classifications of component cities and municipalities under IATF Resolution No. 166-A (s.2022) not otherwise affected by this Resolution shall remain in effect until May 15, 2022," Andanar said. —KBK, GMA News