Filtered By: Topstories

PNP: 24 towns, 4 cities under Comelec control for 2022 polls

The Philippine National Police (PNP) on Friday said that as of May 4, at least 24 towns and four cities have been placed under the Commission on Elections’ control due to security concerns.

Interviewed on ANC, PNP spokesperson Police Colonel Jean Fajardo said these areas will be the focus of deployment of forces from the PNP, Armed Forces of the Philippines, and Philippine Coast Guard.

“There are at least 24 towns and four cities that were already declared under the Comelec control as of May 4. And these will be the focus of the deployment of PNP, AFP, and the PCG come May 9,” she said.

Fajardo told GMA News Online that the following areas are under Comelec control:

Pilar, Abra


  • Buluan
  • Datu Odin Sinsuat
  • Datu Piang
  • Mangudadatu
  • Pandag
  • Sultan Kudarat

Lanao Del Sur

  • Marawi City
  • Maguing
  • Tubaran
  • Malabang

 Misamis Occidental

  • Calamba
  • Concepcion
  • Don Victoriano Chiongbian (Don Mariano Marcos)
  • Lopez Jaena
  • Aloran
  • Baliangao
  • Bonifacio
  • Clarin
  • Jimenez
  • Panaon
  • Plaridel
  • Sapang Dalaga
  • Sinacaban
  • Tudela
  • Ozamiz City
  • Tangub City
  • Oroquieta City

Meanwhile, Fajardo said the validated election-related violence incidents are now 14 as of May 4. According to her, this is lower compared to 133 and 60 recorded in 2016 and 2019 polls, respectively

“If we compare the 14 validated election related incidents as of May 4, this is way below the recorded validated incident in 2016 which recorded 133 validtated election-related incidents. Whereas in 2019, we recorded 60 violated election incidents,” she said.

She added that the PNP is hoping the 14 validated election-related incidents will not increase until the election day comes.

According to her, the validated incidents are just “minor” including grave threat, light threat, and physical injury. — RSJ/VBL, GMA News