Filtered By: Topstories

Velasco leads House members proclaimed winners in Eleksyon 2022

Some members of the House of Representatives have been proclaimed after being reelected this Eleksyon 2022.

Speaker Lord Allan Velasco has been reelected representative of the lone district of Marinduque for a third consecutive term.

On Tuesday, Velasco was proclaimed winner by the Marinduque Provincial Board of Canvassers after the tabulation of all election returns. The House leader obtained 100,794 votes in the final tally.

“I am deeply honored and humbled by my reelection to the House of Representatives. I am extremely grateful to the people of my beloved province of Marinduque for putting their trust and faith in me to represent them in Congress for another three years,” Velasco said in a press statement.

Velasco also lauded his colleagues in the 18th Congress who will get a fresh term in the chamber.

“I look forward to seeing all my fellow House members as we and our Senate counterparts convene in two weeks' time as the National Board of Canvassers which will canvass the votes cast, and proclaim the newly-elected president and vice president of the Republic of the Philippines,” Velasco said.

To recall, Velasco took his oath of office as congressman in February 2016. He ran again for the same post in 2016 and 2019, wherein he both won.

House Deputy Speaker Rufus Rodriguez was also proclaimed as the duly-elected 2nd District representative of Cagayan De Oro after garnering 128,134 votes.

This would be Rodriguez's fifth term as member of the lower chamber of Congress.

Further, Deputy Speaker Camille Villar was also proclaimed as representative of Las Piñas.—LDF, GMA News