Filtered By: Topstories

SWS: Sara Duterte tops commissioned poll on Marcos’ best successor

Vice President Sara Duterte topped a commissioned SWS survey on who would best to succeed President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. in 2028.

The results of the survey that the SWS conducted for former LPGMA party-list Rep. Arney Ty showed Duterte topped the poll with 28%.

However, those who had no answer, didn't know, or refused to respond comprised 41% of the respondents.

Senator Raffy Tulfo followed with 11% and former Vice President Leni Robredo with six percent.

The rest of the replies and their percentage points are:

  • Rodrigo Duterte, 3%
  • Manny Pacquiao, 2%
  • Robin Padilla, 1%
  • Isko Moreno Domagoso, 1%
  • Bongbong Marcos, 1%
  • Imee Marcos, 1%
  • Sandro Marcos, 1%
  • Others, 4%
  • Unspecified names, 1%

Duterte thanked Filipinos for the survey results but added that she was not yet thinking about the national elections in 2028.

She said was thinking of the deliverables expected from the Department of Education and the Office of the Vice President under the Marcos administration.

Duterte is now in Brunei as president of the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization. She also observed best practices in Brunei schools as the Philippines' secretary of education.

SWS said the survey was a conducted nationwide from April 15 to 18, 2023 using face-to-face computer-assisted personal interviews (CAPI).

There were 1,200 adults (18 years old and above) who were interviewed, 300 each in Metro Manila, Balance of Luzon, the Visayas, and Mindanao.

The survey has a sampling error margin of ±3% for national percentages, and ±6% each for Metro Manila, Balance of Luzon, the Visayas, and Mindanao.

The respondents were asked, "Ayon sa Konstitusyon, ang termino ni Pang. Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. ay hanggang sa taong 2028 lamang at magkakaroon ng halalan para sa pagka-Pangulo sa Mayo 2028. Sino sa palagay ninyo ang pinakamagaling na lider na dapat pumalit kay Pang. Marcos, Jr. bilang Presidente? [According to the Constitution, the term of Pres. Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. is up to 2028 only, and there will be an election for a new President in May 2028.  Who do you think is the best leader who should succeed Pres. Marcos, Jr. as President?”

They were asked to give just one answer.

Senatorial preferences

In another SWS poll Ty commissioned, former Senator Manny Pacquiao ranked first among preferred senators.

It had Senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. placing second, while former Senate President Vicente Sotto III ranked third.

Those who were in the fourth to fifth spots were Senator Bong Go and business tycoon and former Senate President Manny Villar.

Senator Lito Lapid, Senator Ronald "Bato" dela Rosa, and Senator Imee Marcos placed in the 6th to 8th spots.

Former President Rodrigo Duterte was among those who completed the 12 senatorial bets, along with former Social Welfare Secretary Erwin Tulfo, former Senator Panfilo Lacson, and Senator Pia Cayetano.

Former Manila City Mayor Isko Moreno, former Vice President Leni Robredo, former Vice President Jejomar Binay, Atty. Chel Diokno, former Senator Antonio Trillanes IV, former Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, Pasig City Mayor Vico Sotto, and Senator Francis Tolentino were among those who ranked 13th to 31st. —NB, GMA Integrated News