Filtered By: Topstories

Palace: ECQ in Laguna, Cagayan de Oro, Iloilo City from Aug. 6 to 15, 2021

The provinces of Laguna, Cagayan de Oro and Iloilo City have been placed under enhanced community quarantine from August 6 to 15 as the country continues to battle the surge in new COVID-19 cases brought by the Delta variant.

In a statement, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force to place the three provinces under the strictest quarantine classification.

Cavite, Lucena City, Rizal and Iloilo Province, will be under modified ECQ during the same period.

Batangas and Quezon, on the other hand, will be under general community quarantine with heightened restrictions from August 6 to 15.

Roque also said the municipality of Gingoog will be placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions from August 8 to 15.

Earlier in the day, the Department of Health reported 116 more cases of the Delta coronavirus variant, bringing the Philippines’ tally to 331.

Metro Manila is also set to revert into a hard lockdown from August 6 to 20 to curb the spread of the Delta variant.

Malacañang assured the public that the government would not run out of funds to provide cash aid for low-income families. 

The government once again placed various areas in the country under lockdown for the first half of August amid the threat of the more transmissible Delta coronavirus variant.

A summary of the community quarantines across the country follows:

Enhanced community quarantine (August 6 to 15)

  • Laguna
  • Cagayan de Oro
  • Iloilo City

ECQ (August 6 to 20)

  • National Capital Region

Modified ECQ (until August 15)

  • Apayao
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Bataan
  • Aklan
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Cebu City
  • Cavite
  • Lucena City
  • Rizal
  • Iloilo Province

General community quarantine with heightened restrictions (until August 15)

  • Ilocos Sur
  • Cagayan
  • Bulacan
  • Naga City
  • Antique
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Negros Oriental
  • Cebu Province
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Occidental
  • Davao de Oro
  • Butuan City
  • Batangas
  • Quezon

GCQ (until August 31)

  • Baguio City
  • Santiago City
  • Quirino
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Cotabato City

The rest of the Philippines will be under modified GCQ until the end of August.  —NB, GMA News


Tags: news, regions, ecqgcq